支持规格

在 v1.8,Kubernetes支持最多5000节点规模的集群。 更具体地说,我们支持满足以下 所有 标准的配置:


创建

集群是一组运行Kubernetes代理组件的节点(物理或虚拟机),它们被 “master” (集群管理平面)所管理。

一般来说,集群的节点数量通过平台相关的 config-default.sh 文件中的 NUM_NODES 值来控制,(例如,详见 GCE’s config-default.sh)。

对很多云提供商来说,单纯地修改NUM_NODES 为一个非常大的值,可能会导致集群的创建脚本失败。 例如,在GCE中部署时,会因配额不足,导致集群启动失败。

当建立一个大型的Kubernetes集群,以下几个问题必须考虑。

配额问题

为了避免出现配额问题,当创建包含大量节点的集群时,考虑:

Etcd存储

为了提升大规模集群的性能,我们将事件对象存储到独立的etcd实例中。

创建集群时,当前的salt脚本:

管理节点和组件的规格

在 GCE/GKE 或 AWS平台中, kube-up 会根据集群的节点规模合理地设置管理节点的规格。 在其他云平台上,用户需要手动配置。 作为参考,GCE使用的规格为:

AWS使用的规格为:

注意,管理节点的规格只会在集群创建时进行设置,后续集群规模发生变化 (如 手动增删节点或集群自动扩缩容)后不会再调整。

插件的资源占用

为防止 集群插件 耗尽节点资源引起内存泄漏或其他资源问题, Kubernetes 设置了插件容器资源的上限,来限制其对CPU和内存资源的占用 (参考 PR #10653#10778)。

例如:

  containers:
  - name: fluentd-cloud-logging
    image: gcr.io/google_containers/fluentd-gcp:1.16
    resources:
      limits:
        cpu: 100m
        memory: 200Mi

除 Heapster 外,这些限制是静态的,基于4个节点规模的集群上运行的插件所采集的数据 (详见 #10335)。 而实际大规模集群中插件所消耗的资源要多得多 (详见 #5880)。 所以如果部署大规模集群时不对这些值进行调整,插件可能会因为资源占用达到上限而不断被杀死。

为了避免集群插件的资源问题,创建多节点的集群时,考虑以下几点:

Heapster的资源限制是基于集群的初始规模动态设置的 (参考 #16185#22940)。 当发现Heapster资源耗尽,应考虑调整计算Heapster内存请求的公式 (参考上述PR)。

关于如何检测插件是否达到资源上限 参考 计算资源的故障排除章节

将来,我们期望基于集群规模来设置集群插件的资源限制,并且在集群规模增长或缩小时能够动态调整。 欢迎提出PR来实现这些特性。

启动时允许部分失败

因为种种原因 (详见 #18969),在 NUM_NODES 值很大的情况下执行 kube-up.sh, 可能因为其中一小部分节点没有正常启动而失败。 这时我们有两种选择:重启集群 (kube-down.sh 然后再 kube-up.sh),或者在执行 kube-up.sh之前, 将环境变量 ALLOWED_NOTREADY_NODES 设置为合适的值。 这将允许 kube-up.sh 以少于 NUM_NODES 的节点数量启动集群。 依据失败的具体原因,另外的节点可能在后面加入集群,或者集群节点数量将保持在 NUM_NODES - ALLOWED_NOTREADY_NODES

How to get started, and achieve tasks, using Kubernetes

Edit This Page

Building Large Clusters


At v1.3, Kubernetes supports clusters with up to 1000 nodes. More specifically, we support configurations that meet all of the following criteria:


A cluster is a set of nodes (physical or virtual machines) running Kubernetes agents, managed by a “master” (the cluster-level control plane).

Normally the number of nodes in a cluster is controlled by the the value NUM_NODES in the platform-specific file (for example, see GCE’s

Simply changing that value to something very large, however, may cause the setup script to fail for many cloud providers. A GCE deployment, for example, will run in to quota issues and fail to bring the cluster up.

When setting up a large Kubernetes cluster, the following issues must be considered.

Quota Issues

To avoid running into cloud provider quota issues, when creating a cluster with many nodes, consider:

Etcd storage

To improve performance of large clusters, we store events in a separate dedicated etcd instance.

When creating a cluster, existing salt scripts:

Size of master and master components

On GCE/GKE and AWS, kube-up automatically configures the proper VM size for your master depending on the number of nodes in your cluster. On other providers, you will need to configure it manually. For reference, the sizes we use on GCE are

And the sizes we use on AWS are

Note that these master node sizes are currently only set at cluster startup time, and are not adjusted if you later scale your cluster up or down (e.g. manually removing or adding nodes, or using a cluster autoscaler).

Addon Resources

To prevent memory leaks or other resource issues in cluster addons from consuming all the resources available on a node, Kubernetes sets resource limits on addon containers to limit the CPU and Memory resources they can consume (See PR #10653 and #10778).

For example:

  - name: fluentd-cloud-logging
        cpu: 100m
        memory: 200Mi

Except for Heapster, these limits are static and are based on data we collected from addons running on 4-node clusters (see #10335). The addons consume a lot more resources when running on large deployment clusters (see #5880). So, if a large cluster is deployed without adjusting these values, the addons may continuously get killed because they keep hitting the limits.

To avoid running into cluster addon resource issues, when creating a cluster with many nodes, consider the following:

Heapster’s resource limits are set dynamically based on the initial size of your cluster (see #16185 and #22940). If you find that Heapster is running out of resources, you should adjust the formulas that compute heapster memory request (see those PRs for details).

For directions on how to detect if addon containers are hitting resource limits, see the Troubleshooting section of Compute Resources.

In the future, we anticipate to set all cluster addon resource limits based on cluster size, and to dynamically adjust them if you grow or shrink your cluster. We welcome PRs that implement those features.

Allowing minor node failure at startup

For various reasons (see #18969 for more details) running with a very large NUM_NODES may fail due to a very small number of nodes not coming up properly. Currently you have two choices: restart the cluster ( and then again), or before running set the environment variable ALLOWED_NOTREADY_NODES to whatever value you feel comfortable with. This will allow to succeed with fewer than NUM_NODES coming up. Depending on the reason for the failure, those additional nodes may join later or the cluster may remain at a size of NUM_NODES - ALLOWED_NOTREADY_NODES.


Create Issue Edit This Page