Edit This Page

控制器

在机器人技术和自动化中,控制回路是一个非终止回路,用于调节系统状态。

这是一个控制环的例子:房间里的温度自动调节器。

当你设置了温度,告诉了温度自动调节器你的期望状态。房间的实际温度是当前状态。通过对设备的开关控制,温度自动调节器让其当前状态接近期望状态。

控制器通过 apiserver主节点上负责提供 Kubernetes API 服务的组件;它是 Kubernetes 控制面的前端。 监控集群的公共状态,并致力于将当前状态转变为期望的状态。

控制器模式

一个控制器至少追踪一种类型的 Kubernetes 资源。这些对象有一个代表期望状态的指定字段。控制器负责确保其追踪的资源对象的当前状态接近期望状态。

控制器可能会自行执行操作;在 Kubernetes 中更常见的是一个控制器会发送信息给 API 服务器主节点上负责提供 Kubernetes API 服务的组件;它是 Kubernetes 控制面的前端。 ,这会有副作用。看下面这个例子。

通过 API 服务器来控制

JobJob 是需要运行完成的确定性的或批量的任务。 控制器是一个 Kubernetes 内置控制器的例子。内置控制器通过和集群 API 服务器交互来管理状态。

Job 是一种 Kubernetes 资源,它运行一个 PodPod 是 Kubernetes 的原子对象。Pod 表示您的集群上一组正在运行的容器。 ,或者可能是多个 Pod,来执行一个任务然后停止。

(一旦被调度了),对 kubelet 来说 Pod 对象就会变成了期望状态的一部分。

在集群中,当 Job 控制器拿到新任务时,它会保证一组 Node 节点上的 kubelet 可以运行正确数量的 Pod 来完成工作。 Job 控制器不会自己运行任何的 Pod 或者容器。Job 控制器是通知 API 服务器来创建或者移除 Pod。 控制平面容器编排层,它暴露 API 和接口来定义、部署容器和管理容器的生命周期。 中的其它组件根据新的消息而反应(调度新的 Pod 并且运行它)并且最终完成工作。

创建新 Job 后,所期望的状态就是完成这个 Job。Job 控制器会让 Job 的当前状态不断接近期望状态:创建为 Job 要完成工作所需要的 Pod,使 Job 的状态接近完成。

控制器也会更新配置对象。例如:一旦 Job 的工作完成了,Job 控制器会更新 Job 对象的状态为 Finished

(这有点像温度自动调节器关闭了一个灯,以此来告诉你房间的温度现在到你设定的值了)。

直接控制

相比 Job 控制器,有些控制器需要对集群外的一些东西进行修改。

例如,如果你使用一个控制环来保证集群中有足够的节点Kubernetes 中的工作机器称作节点。 ,那么控制就需要当前集群外的一些服务在需要时创建新节点。

和外部状态交互的控制器从 API 服务器获取到它想要的状态,然后直接和外部系统进行通信并使当前状态更接近期望状态。

(实际上有一个控制器可以水平地扩展集群中的节点。请看集群自动扩缩容)。

期望状态与当前状态

Kubernetes 采用了系统的云原生视图,并且可以处理持续的变化。

在任务执行时,集群随时都可能被修改,并且控制环会自动的修复故障。这意味着很可能集群永远不会达到稳定状态。

只要集群中控制器的在运行并且进行有效的修改,整体状态的稳定与否是无关紧要的。

设计

作为设计的一个原则,Kubernetes 使用了很多控制器,每个控制器管理集群状态的一个特定方面。最常见的一个特定的控制器使用一种类型的资源作为它的期望状态,控制器管理控制另外一种类型的资源向它的期望状态发展。

使用简单的控制器而不是一组相互连接的单体控制环是很有用的。控制器会失败,所以 Kubernetes 的设计是考虑到了这一点。

例如:为 Job 追踪 Job 对象(发现新工作)和 Pod 对象(运行 Job,并且等工作完成)的控制器。在本例中,其它东西创建作业,而作业控制器创建 Pod。

说明: 可以有多个控制器来创建或者更新相同类型的对象。在这之后,Kubernetes 控制器确保他们只关心和它们控制资源相关联的资源。 例如,你可以有 Deployments 和 Jobs;它们都可以创建 Pod。Job 控制器不删除 Deployment 创建的 Pod,因为有信息(标签用来为对象设置可标识的属性标记;这些标记对用户而言是有意义且重要的。 )让控制器可以区分这些 Pod。

运行控制器的方式

Kubernetes 自带有一组内置的控制器,运行在 kube-controller-manager主节点上运行控制器的组件。 内。这些内置的控制器提供了重要的核心功能。

Deployment 控制器和 Job 控制器是 Kubernetes 内置控制器的典型例子。Kubernetes 运行一个弹性的控制平面,所以如果任意内置控制器失败了,控制平面的另外一部分会接替它的工作。

你会发现控制平面外面运行的控制器,扩展了 Kubernetes 的能力。或者,如果你愿意,你也可以写一个新控制器。你可以以一组 Pod 来运行你的控制器,或者运行在 Kubernetes 外面。什么是最合适的控制器,这将取决于特定控制器的功能。

接下来

Concepts

Edit This Page

Controllers

In robotics and automation, a control loop is a non-terminating loop that regulates the state of a system.

Here is one example of a control loop: a thermostat in a room.

When you set the temperature, that’s telling the thermostat about your desired state. The actual room temperature is the current state. The thermostat acts to bring the current state closer to the desired state, by turning equipment on or off.

In Kubernetes, controllers are control loops that watch the state of your clusterA set of machines, called nodes, that run containerized applications managed by Kubernetes. A cluster has at least one worker node and at least one master node. , then make or request changes where needed. Each controller tries to move the current cluster state closer to the desired state.

Controller pattern

A controller tracks at least one Kubernetes resource type. These objects have a spec field that represents the desired state. The controller(s) for that resource are responsible for making the current state come closer to that desired state.

The controller might carry the action out itself; more commonly, in Kubernetes, a controller will send messages to the API serverControl plane component that serves the Kubernetes API. that have useful side effects. You’ll see examples of this below.

Control via API server

The JobA finite or batch task that runs to completion. controller is an example of a Kubernetes built-in controller. Built-in controllers manage state by interacting with the cluster API server.

Job is a Kubernetes resource that runs a PodThe smallest and simplest Kubernetes object. A Pod represents a set of running containers on your cluster. , or perhaps several Pods, to carry out a task and then stop.

(Once scheduled, Pod objects become part of the desired state for a kubelet).

When the Job controller sees a new task it makes sure that, somewhere in your cluster, the kubelets on a set of Nodes are running the right number of Pods to get the work done. The Job controller does not run any Pods or containers itself. Instead, the Job controller tells the API server to create or remove Pods. Other components in the control planeThe container orchestration layer that exposes the API and interfaces to define, deploy, and manage the lifecycle of containers. act on the new information (there are new Pods to schedule and run), and eventually the work is done.

After you create a new Job, the desired state is for that Job to be completed. The Job controller makes the current state for that Job be nearer to your desired state: creating Pods that do the work you wanted for that Job, so that the Job is closer to completion.

Controllers also update the objects that configure them. For example: once the work is done for a Job, the Job controller updates that Job object to mark it Finished.

(This is a bit like how some thermostats turn a light off to indicate that your room is now at the temperature you set).

Direct control

By contrast with Job, some controllers need to make changes to things outside of your cluster.

For example, if you use a control loop to make sure there are enough NodesA node is a worker machine in Kubernetes. in your cluster, then that controller needs something outside the current cluster to set up new Nodes when needed.

Controllers that interact with external state find their desired state from the API server, then communicate directly with an external system to bring the current state closer in line.

(There actually is a controller that horizontally scales the nodes in your cluster. See Cluster autoscaling).

Desired versus current state

Kubernetes takes a cloud-native view of systems, and is able to handle constant change.

Your cluster could be changing at any point as work happens and control loops automatically fix failures. This means that, potentially, your cluster never reaches a stable state.

As long as the controllers for your cluster are running and able to make useful changes, it doesn’t matter if the overall state is or is not stable.

Design

As a tenet of its design, Kubernetes uses lots of controllers that each manage a particular aspect of cluster state. Most commonly, a particular control loop (controller) uses one kind of resource as its desired state, and has a different kind of resource that it manages to make that desired state happen.

It’s useful to have simple controllers rather than one, monolithic set of control loops that are interlinked. Controllers can fail, so Kubernetes is designed to allow for that.

For example: a controller for Jobs tracks Job objects (to discover new work) and Pod object (to run the Jobs, and then to see when the work is finished). In this case something else creates the Jobs, whereas the Job controller creates Pods.

Note:

There can be several controllers that create or update the same kind of object. Behind the scenes, Kubernetes controllers make sure that they only pay attention to the resources linked to their controlling resource.

For example, you can have Deployments and Jobs; these both create Pods. The Job controller does not delete the Pods that your Deployment created, because there is information (labelsTags objects with identifying attributes that are meaningful and relevant to users. ) the controllers can use to tell those Pods apart.

Ways of running controllers

Kubernetes comes with a set of built-in controllers that run inside the kube-controller-managerComponent on the master that runs controllers. . These built-in controllers provide important core behaviors.

The Deployment controller and Job controller are examples of controllers that come as part of Kubernetes itself (“built-in” controllers). Kubernetes lets you run a resilient control plane, so that if any of the built-in controllers were to fail, another part of the control plane will take over the work.

You can find controllers that run outside the control plane, to extend Kubernetes. Or, if you want, you can write a new controller yourself. You can run your own controller as a set of Pods, or externally to Kubernetes. What fits best will depend on what that particular controller does.

What's next

Feedback