节点

Kubernetes 通过将容器放入在节点(Node)上运行的 Pod 中来执行你的工作负载。 节点可以是一个虚拟机或者物理机器,取决于所在的集群配置。每个节点都包含用于运行 Pod 所需要的服务,这些服务由 控制面负责管理。

通常集群中会有若干个节点;而在一个学习用或者资源受限的环境中,你的集群中也可能 只有一个节点。

节点上的组件包括 kubelet容器运行时以及 kube-proxy

管理

API 服务器添加节点的方式主要有两种:

  1. 节点上的 kubelet 向控制面执行自注册;
  2. 你,或者别的什么人,手动添加一个 Node 对象。

在你创建了 Node 对象或者节点上的 kubelet 执行了自注册操作之后, 控制面会检查新的 Node 对象是否合法。例如,如果你使用下面的 JSON 对象来创建 Node 对象:

{
  "kind": "Node",
  "apiVersion": "v1",
  "metadata": {
    "name": "10.240.79.157",
    "labels": {
      "name": "my-first-k8s-node"
    }
  }
}

Kubernetes 会在内部创建一个 Node 对象作为节点的表示。Kubernetes 检查 kubelet 向 API 服务器注册节点时使用的 metadata.name 字段是否匹配。 如果节点是健康的(即所有必要的服务都在运行中),则该节点可以用来运行 Pod。 否则,直到该节点变为健康之前,所有的集群活动都会忽略该节点。

说明: Kubernetes 会一直保存着非法节点对应的对象,并持续检查该节点是否已经 变得健康。 你,或者某个控制器必需显式地 删除该 Node 对象以停止健康检查操作。

Node 对象的名称必须是合法的 DNS 子域名

节点自注册

当 kubelet 标志 --register-node 为 true(默认)时,它会尝试向 API 服务注册自己。 这是首选模式,被绝大多数发行版选用。

对于自注册模式,kubelet 使用下列参数启动:

  • --kubeconfig - 用于向 API 服务器表明身份的凭据路径。
  • --cloud-provider - 与某云驱动 进行通信以读取与自身相关的元数据的方式。
  • --register-node - 自动向 API 服务注册。
  • --register-with-taints - 使用所给的污点列表(逗号分隔的 <key>=<value>:<effect>)注册节点。 当 register-node 为 false 时无效。
  • --node-ip - 节点 IP 地址。
  • --node-labels - 在集群中注册节点时要添加的 标签。 (参见 NodeRestriction 准入控制插件所实施的标签限制)。
  • --node-status-update-frequency - 指定 kubelet 向控制面发送状态的频率。

启用节点授权模式NodeRestriction 准入插件 时,仅授权 kubelet 创建或修改其自己的节点资源。

手动节点管理

你可以使用 kubectl 来创建和修改 Node 对象。

如果你希望手动创建节点对象时,请设置 kubelet 标志 --register-node=false

你可以修改 Node 对象(忽略 --register-node 设置)。 例如,修改节点上的标签或标记其为不可调度。

你可以结合使用节点上的标签和 Pod 上的选择算符来控制调度。 例如,你可以限制某 Pod 只能在符合要求的节点子集上运行。

如果标记节点为不可调度(unschedulable),将阻止新 Pod 调度到该节点之上,但不会 影响任何已经在其上的 Pod。 这是重启节点或者执行其他维护操作之前的一个有用的准备步骤。

要标记一个节点为不可调度,执行以下命令:

kubectl cordon $NODENAME
说明:DaemonSet 控制器创建的 Pod 能够容忍节点的不可调度属性。 DaemonSet 通常提供节点本地的服务,即使节点上的负载应用已经被腾空,这些服务也仍需 运行在节点之上。

节点状态

一个节点的状态包含以下信息:

你可以使用 kubectl 来查看节点状态和其他细节信息:

kubectl describe node <节点名称>

下面对每个部分进行详细描述。

地址

这些字段的用法取决于你的云服务商或者物理机配置。

  • HostName:由节点的内核设置。可以通过 kubelet 的 --hostname-override 参数覆盖。
  • ExternalIP:通常是节点的可外部路由(从集群外可访问)的 IP 地址。
  • InternalIP:通常是节点的仅可在集群内部路由的 IP 地址。

状况

conditions 字段描述了所有 Running 节点的状态。状况的示例包括:

说明: 如果使用命令行工具来打印已保护(Cordoned)节点的细节,其中的 Condition 字段可能 包括 SchedulingDisabledSchedulingDisabled 不是 Kubernetes API 中定义的 Condition,被保护起来的节点在其规约中被标记为不可调度(Unschedulable)。

节点条件使用 JSON 对象表示。例如,下面的响应描述了一个健康的节点。

"conditions": [
  {
    "type": "Ready",
    "status": "True",
    "reason": "KubeletReady",
    "message": "kubelet is posting ready status",
    "lastHeartbeatTime": "2019-06-05T18:38:35Z",
    "lastTransitionTime": "2019-06-05T11:41:27Z"
  }
]

如果 Ready 条件处于 Unknown 或者 False 状态的时间超过了 pod-eviction-timeout 值, (一个传递给 kube-controller-manager 的参数), 节点上的所有 Pod 都会被节点控制器计划删除。默认的逐出超时时长为 5 分钟。 某些情况下,当节点不可达时,API 服务器不能和其上的 kubelet 通信。 删除 Pod 的决定不能传达给 kubelet,直到它重新建立和 API 服务器的连接为止。 与此同时,被计划删除的 Pod 可能会继续在游离的节点上运行。

节点控制器在确认 Pod 在集群中已经停止运行前,不会强制删除它们。 你可以看到这些可能在无法访问的节点上运行的 Pod 处于 Terminating 或者 Unknown 状态。 如果 kubernetes 不能基于下层基础设施推断出某节点是否已经永久离开了集群, 集群管理员可能需要手动删除该节点对象。 从 Kubernetes 删除节点对象将导致 API 服务器删除节点上所有运行的 Pod 对象并释放它们的名字。

节点生命周期控制器会自动创建代表状况的 污点。 当调度器将 Pod 指派给某节点时,会考虑节点上的污点。 Pod 则可以通过容忍度(Toleration)表达所能容忍的污点。

capacity 块中的字段标示节点拥有的资源总量。 allocatable 块指示节点上可供普通 Pod 消耗的资源量。

可以在学习如何在节点上预留计算资源 的时候了解有关容量和可分配资源的更多信息。

第二个是保持节点控制器内的节点列表与云服务商所提供的可用机器列表同步。 如果在云环境下运行,只要某节点不健康,节点控制器就会询问云服务是否节点的虚拟机仍可用。 如果不可用,节点控制器会将该节点从它的节点列表删除。

第三个是监控节点的健康情况。节点控制器负责在节点不可达 (即,节点控制器因为某些原因没有收到心跳,例如节点宕机)时, 将节点状态的 NodeReady 状况更新为 "Unknown"。 如果节点接下来持续处于不可达状态,节点控制器将逐出节点上的所有 Pod(使用体面终止)。 默认情况下 40 秒后开始报告 "Unknown",在那之后 5 分钟开始逐出 Pod。 节点控制器每隔 --node-monitor-period 秒检查每个节点的状态。

kubelet 负责创建和更新 NodeStatusLease 对象。

当一个可用区域(Availability Zone)中的节点变为不健康时,节点的驱逐行为将发生改变。 节点控制器会同时检查可用区域中不健康(NodeReady 状况为 Unknown 或 False) 的节点的百分比。如果不健康节点的比例超过 --unhealthy-zone-threshold (默认为 0.55), 驱逐速率将会降低:如果集群较小(意即小于等于 --large-cluster-size-threshold 个节点 - 默认为 50),驱逐操作将会停止,否则驱逐速率将降为每秒 --secondary-node-eviction-rate 个(默认为 0.01)。 在单个可用区域实施这些策略的原因是当一个可用区域可能从控制面脱离时其它可用区域 可能仍然保持连接。 如果你的集群没有跨越云服务商的多个可用区域,那(整个集群)就只有一个可用区域。

跨多个可用区域部署你的节点的一个关键原因是当某个可用区域整体出现故障时, 工作负载可以转移到健康的可用区域。 因此,如果一个可用区域中的所有节点都不健康时,节点控制器会以正常的速率 --node-eviction-rate 进行驱逐操作。 在所有的可用区域都不健康(也即集群中没有健康节点)的极端情况下, 节点控制器将假设控制面节点的连接出了某些问题, 它将停止所有驱逐动作直到一些连接恢复。

节点控制器还负责驱逐运行在拥有 NoExecute 污点的节点上的 Pod, 除非这些 Pod 能够容忍此污点。 节点控制器还负责根据节点故障(例如节点不可访问或没有就绪)为其添加 污点。 这意味着调度器不会将 Pod 调度到不健康的节点上。

注意: kubectl cordon 会将节点标记为“不可调度(Unschedulable)”。 此操作的副作用是,服务控制器会将该节点从负载均衡器中之前的目标节点列表中移除, 从而使得来自负载均衡器的网络请求不会到达被保护起来的节点。

Kubernetes 调度器保证节点上 有足够的资源供其上的所有 Pod 使用。它会检查节点上所有容器的请求的总和不会超过节点的容量。 总的请求包括由 kubelet 启动的所有容器,但不包括由容器运行时直接启动的容器, 也不包括不受 kubelet 控制的其他进程。

说明: 如果要为非 Pod 进程显式保留资源。请参考 为系统守护进程预留资源

节点拓扑

FEATURE STATE: Kubernetes v1.16 [alpha]

如果启用了 TopologyManager 特性门控kubelet 可以在作出资源分配决策时使用拓扑提示。 参考控制节点上拓扑管理策略 了解详细信息。

接下来

最后修改 August 31, 2020 at 3:59 PM PST: Update nodes.md (da48b120c)

Nodes

Kubernetes runs your workload by placing containers into Pods to run on Nodes. A node may be a virtual or physical machine, depending on the cluster. Each node contains the services necessary to run Pods, managed by the control plane.

Typically you have several nodes in a cluster; in a learning or resource-limited environment, you might have just one.

The components on a node include the kubelet, a container runtime, and the kube-proxy.

Management

There are two main ways to have Nodes added to the API server:

  1. The kubelet on a node self-registers to the control plane
  2. You, or another human user, manually add a Node object

After you create a Node object, or the kubelet on a node self-registers, the control plane checks whether the new Node object is valid. For example, if you try to create a Node from the following JSON manifest:

{
  "kind": "Node",
  "apiVersion": "v1",
  "metadata": {
    "name": "10.240.79.157",
    "labels": {
      "name": "my-first-k8s-node"
    }
  }
}

Kubernetes creates a Node object internally (the representation). Kubernetes checks that a kubelet has registered to the API server that matches the metadata.name field of the Node. If the node is healthy (if all necessary services are running), it is eligible to run a Pod. Otherwise, that node is ignored for any cluster activity until it becomes healthy.

Note:

Kubernetes keeps the object for the invalid Node and continues checking to see whether it becomes healthy.

You, or a controller, must explicitly delete the Node object to stop that health checking.

The name of a Node object must be a valid DNS subdomain name.

Self-registration of Nodes

When the kubelet flag --register-node is true (the default), the kubelet will attempt to register itself with the API server. This is the preferred pattern, used by most distros.

For self-registration, the kubelet is started with the following options:

  • --kubeconfig - Path to credentials to authenticate itself to the API server.

  • --cloud-provider - How to talk to a cloud provider to read metadata about itself.

  • --register-node - Automatically register with the API server.

  • --register-with-taints - Register the node with the given list of taints (comma separated <key>=<value>:<effect>).

    No-op if register-node is false.

  • --node-ip - IP address of the node.

  • --node-labels - Labels to add when registering the node in the cluster (see label restrictions enforced by the NodeRestriction admission plugin).

  • --node-status-update-frequency - Specifies how often kubelet posts node status to master.

When the Node authorization mode and NodeRestriction admission plugin are enabled, kubelets are only authorized to create/modify their own Node resource.

Manual Node administration

You can create and modify Node objects using kubectl.

When you want to create Node objects manually, set the kubelet flag --register-node=false.

You can modify Node objects regardless of the setting of --register-node. For example, you can set labels on an existing Node, or mark it unschedulable.

You can use labels on Nodes in conjunction with node selectors on Pods to control scheduling. For example, you can constrain a Pod to only be eligible to run on a subset of the available nodes.

Marking a node as unschedulable prevents the scheduler from placing new pods onto that Node, but does not affect existing Pods on the Node. This is useful as a preparatory step before a node reboot or other maintenance.

To mark a Node unschedulable, run:

kubectl cordon $NODENAME
Note: Pods that are part of a DaemonSet tolerate being run on an unschedulable Node. DaemonSets typically provide node-local services that should run on the Node even if it is being drained of workload applications.

Node status

A Node's status contains the following information:

You can use kubectl to view a Node's status and other details:

kubectl describe node <insert-node-name-here>

Each section of the output is described below.

Addresses

The usage of these fields varies depending on your cloud provider or bare metal configuration.

  • HostName: The hostname as reported by the node's kernel. Can be overridden via the kubelet --hostname-override parameter.
  • ExternalIP: Typically the IP address of the node that is externally routable (available from outside the cluster).
  • InternalIP: Typically the IP address of the node that is routable only within the cluster.

Conditions

The conditions field describes the status of all Running nodes. Examples of conditions include:

Node conditions, and a description of when each condition applies.
Node ConditionDescription
ReadyTrue if the node is healthy and ready to accept pods, False if the node is not healthy and is not accepting pods, and Unknown if the node controller has not heard from the node in the last node-monitor-grace-period (default is 40 seconds)
DiskPressureTrue if pressure exists on the disk size--that is, if the disk capacity is low; otherwise False
MemoryPressureTrue if pressure exists on the node memory--that is, if the node memory is low; otherwise False
PIDPressureTrue if pressure exists on the processes—that is, if there are too many processes on the node; otherwise False
NetworkUnavailableTrue if the network for the node is not correctly configured, otherwise False
Note: If you use command-line tools to print details of a cordoned Node, the Condition includes SchedulingDisabled. SchedulingDisabled is not a Condition in the Kubernetes API; instead, cordoned nodes are marked Unschedulable in their spec.

The node condition is represented as a JSON object. For example, the following structure describes a healthy node:

"conditions": [
  {
    "type": "Ready",
    "status": "True",
    "reason": "KubeletReady",
    "message": "kubelet is posting ready status",
    "lastHeartbeatTime": "2019-06-05T18:38:35Z",
    "lastTransitionTime": "2019-06-05T11:41:27Z"
  }
]

If the Status of the Ready condition remains Unknown or False for longer than the pod-eviction-timeout (an argument passed to the kube-controller-manager), all the Pods on the node are scheduled for deletion by the node controller. The default eviction timeout duration is five minutes. In some cases when the node is unreachable, the API server is unable to communicate with the kubelet on the node. The decision to delete the pods cannot be communicated to the kubelet until communication with the API server is re-established. In the meantime, the pods that are scheduled for deletion may continue to run on the partitioned node.

The node controller does not force delete pods until it is confirmed that they have stopped running in the cluster. You can see the pods that might be running on an unreachable node as being in the Terminating or Unknown state. In cases where Kubernetes cannot deduce from the underlying infrastructure if a node has permanently left a cluster, the cluster administrator may need to delete the node object by hand. Deleting the node object from Kubernetes causes all the Pod objects running on the node to be deleted from the API server, and frees up their names.

The node lifecycle controller automatically creates taints that represent conditions. The scheduler takes the Node's taints into consideration when assigning a Pod to a Node. Pods can also have tolerations which let them tolerate a Node's taints.

See Taint Nodes by Condition for more details.

Capacity and Allocatable

Describes the resources available on the node: CPU, memory and the maximum number of pods that can be scheduled onto the node.

The fields in the capacity block indicate the total amount of resources that a Node has. The allocatable block indicates the amount of resources on a Node that is available to be consumed by normal Pods.

You may read more about capacity and allocatable resources while learning how to reserve compute resources on a Node.

Info

Describes general information about the node, such as kernel version, Kubernetes version (kubelet and kube-proxy version), Docker version (if used), and OS name. This information is gathered by Kubelet from the node.

Node controller

The node controller is a Kubernetes control plane component that manages various aspects of nodes.

The node controller has multiple roles in a node's life. The first is assigning a CIDR block to the node when it is registered (if CIDR assignment is turned on).

The second is keeping the node controller's internal list of nodes up to date with the cloud provider's list of available machines. When running in a cloud environment, whenever a node is unhealthy, the node controller asks the cloud provider if the VM for that node is still available. If not, the node controller deletes the node from its list of nodes.

The third is monitoring the nodes' health. The node controller is responsible for updating the NodeReady condition of NodeStatus to ConditionUnknown when a node becomes unreachable (i.e. the node controller stops receiving heartbeats for some reason, for example due to the node being down), and then later evicting all the pods from the node (using graceful termination) if the node continues to be unreachable. (The default timeouts are 40s to start reporting ConditionUnknown and 5m after that to start evicting pods.) The node controller checks the state of each node every --node-monitor-period seconds.

Heartbeats

Heartbeats, sent by Kubernetes nodes, help determine the availability of a node.

There are two forms of heartbeats: updates of NodeStatus and the Lease object. Each Node has an associated Lease object in the kube-node-lease namespace. Lease is a lightweight resource, which improves the performance of the node heartbeats as the cluster scales.

The kubelet is responsible for creating and updating the NodeStatus and a Lease object.

  • The kubelet updates the NodeStatus either when there is change in status, or if there has been no update for a configured interval. The default interval for NodeStatus updates is 5 minutes (much longer than the 40 second default timeout for unreachable nodes).
  • The kubelet creates and then updates its Lease object every 10 seconds (the default update interval). Lease updates occur independently from the NodeStatus updates. If the Lease update fails, the kubelet retries with exponential backoff starting at 200 milliseconds and capped at 7 seconds.

Reliability

In most cases, the node controller limits the eviction rate to --node-eviction-rate (default 0.1) per second, meaning it won't evict pods from more than 1 node per 10 seconds.

The node eviction behavior changes when a node in a given availability zone becomes unhealthy. The node controller checks what percentage of nodes in the zone are unhealthy (NodeReady condition is ConditionUnknown or ConditionFalse) at the same time. If the fraction of unhealthy nodes is at least --unhealthy-zone-threshold (default 0.55) then the eviction rate is reduced: if the cluster is small (i.e. has less than or equal to --large-cluster-size-threshold nodes - default 50) then evictions are stopped, otherwise the eviction rate is reduced to --secondary-node-eviction-rate (default 0.01) per second. The reason these policies are implemented per availability zone is because one availability zone might become partitioned from the master while the others remain connected. If your cluster does not span multiple cloud provider availability zones, then there is only one availability zone (the whole cluster).

A key reason for spreading your nodes across availability zones is so that the workload can be shifted to healthy zones when one entire zone goes down. Therefore, if all nodes in a zone are unhealthy then the node controller evicts at the normal rate of --node-eviction-rate. The corner case is when all zones are completely unhealthy (i.e. there are no healthy nodes in the cluster). In such a case, the node controller assumes that there's some problem with master connectivity and stops all evictions until some connectivity is restored.

The node controller is also responsible for evicting pods running on nodes with NoExecute taints, unless those pods tolerate that taint. The node controller also adds taints corresponding to node problems like node unreachable or not ready. This means that the scheduler won't place Pods onto unhealthy nodes.

Caution: kubectl cordon marks a node as 'unschedulable', which has the side effect of the service controller removing the node from any LoadBalancer node target lists it was previously eligible for, effectively removing incoming load balancer traffic from the cordoned node(s).

Node capacity

Node objects track information about the Node's resource capacity (for example: the amount of memory available, and the number of CPUs). Nodes that self register report their capacity during registration. If you manually add a Node, then you need to set the node's capacity information when you add it.

The Kubernetes scheduler ensures that there are enough resources for all the Pods on a Node. The scheduler checks that the sum of the requests of containers on the node is no greater than the node's capacity. That sum of requests includes all containers managed by the kubelet, but excludes any containers started directly by the container runtime, and also excludes any processes running outside of the kubelet's control.

Note: If you want to explicitly reserve resources for non-Pod processes, see reserve resources for system daemons.

Node topology

FEATURE STATE: Kubernetes v1.16 [alpha]

If you have enabled the TopologyManager feature gate, then the kubelet can use topology hints when making resource assignment decisions. See Control Topology Management Policies on a Node for more information.

What's next

Last modified October 07, 2020 at 7:16 PM PST: Revise cluster management task (59dcd57cc)