调度框架

FEATURE STATE: Kubernetes 1.15 [alpha]

调度框架是 Kubernetes Scheduler 的一种可插入架构,可以简化调度器的自定义。它向现有的调度器增加了一组新的“插件” API。插件被编译到调度器程序中。这些 API 允许大多数调度功能以插件的形式实现,同时使调度“核心”保持简单且可维护。请参考调度框架的设计提案获取框架设计的更多技术信息。

框架工作流程

调度框架定义了一些扩展点。调度器插件注册后在一个或多个扩展点处被调用。这些插件中的一些可以改变调度决策,而另一些仅用于提供信息。

每次调度一个 Pod 的尝试都分为两个阶段,即 调度周期绑定周期

调度周期和绑定周期

调度周期为 Pod 选择一个节点,绑定周期将该决策应用于集群。调度周期和绑定周期一起被称为“调度上下文”。

调度周期是串行运行的,而绑定周期可能是同时运行的。

如果确定 Pod 不可调度或者存在内部错误,则可以终止调度周期或绑定周期。Pod 将返回队列并重试。

扩展点

下图显示了一个 Pod 的调度上下文以及调度框架公开的扩展点。在此图片中,“过滤器”等同于“断言”,“评分”相当于“优先级函数”。

一个插件可以在多个扩展点处注册,以执行更复杂或有状态的任务。

调度框架扩展点

队列排序

队列排序插件用于对调度队列中的 Pod 进行排序。队列排序插件本质上提供 "less(Pod1, Pod2)" 函数。一次只能启动一个队列插件。

前置过滤

前置过滤插件用于预处理 Pod 的相关信息,或者检查集群或 Pod 必须满足的某些条件。如果 PreFilter 插件返回错误,则调度周期将终止。

过滤

过滤插件用于过滤出不能运行该 Pod 的节点。对于每个节点,调度器将按照其配置顺序调用这些过滤插件。如果任何过滤插件将节点标记为不可行,则不会为该节点调用剩下的过滤插件。节点可以被同时进行评估。

后置过滤

这些插件在筛选阶段后调用,但仅在该 pod 没有可行的节点时调用。插件按其配置的顺序调用。如果任何后过滤器插件标记节点为“可调度”, 则其余的插件不会调用。典型的后筛选实现是抢占,试图通过抢占其他 pod 的资源使该 pod 可以调度。

前置评分

前置评分插件用于执行 “前置评分” 工作,即生成一个可共享状态供评分插件使用。如果 PreScore 插件返回错误,则调度周期将终止。

评分

评分插件用于对通过过滤阶段的节点进行排名。调度器将为每个节点调用每个评分插件。将有一个定义明确的整数范围,代表最小和最大分数。在标准化评分阶段之后,调度器将根据配置的插件权重合并所有插件的节点分数。

标准化评分

标准化评分插件用于在调度器计算节点的排名之前修改分数。在此扩展点注册的插件将使用同一插件的评分 结果被调用。每个插件在每个调度周期调用一次。

例如,假设一个 BlinkingLightScorer 插件基于具有的闪烁指示灯数量来对节点进行排名。

func ScoreNode(_ *v1.pod, n *v1.Node) (int, error) {
   return getBlinkingLightCount(n)
}

然而,最大的闪烁灯个数值可能比 NodeScoreMax 小。要解决这个问题,BlinkingLightScorer 插件还应该注册该扩展点。

func NormalizeScores(scores map[string]int) {
   highest := 0
   for _, score := range scores {
      highest = max(highest, score)
   }
   for node, score := range scores {
      scores[node] = score*NodeScoreMax/highest
   }
}

如果任何 NormalizeScore 插件返回错误,则调度阶段将终止。

说明: 希望执行“预保留”工作的插件应该使用 NormalizeScore 扩展点。

保留

保留是一个信息性的扩展点。管理运行时状态的插件(也成为“有状态插件”)应该使用此扩展点,以便调度器在节点给指定 Pod 预留了资源时能够通知该插件。这是在调度器真正将 Pod 绑定到节点之前发生的,并且它存在是为了防止在调度器等待绑定成功时发生竞争情况。

这个是调度周期的最后一步。一旦 Pod 处于保留状态,它将在绑定周期结束时触发不保留 插件(失败时)或 绑定后 插件(成功时)。

允许

Permit 插件在每个 Pod 调度周期的最后调用,用于防止或延迟 Pod 的绑定。一个允许插件可以做以下三件事之一:

  1. 批准
    一旦所有 Permit 插件批准 Pod 后,该 Pod 将被发送以进行绑定。
  1. 拒绝
    如果任何 Permit 插件拒绝 Pod,则该 Pod 将被返回到调度队列。这将触发不保留 插件。
  1. 等待(带有超时)
    如果一个 Permit 插件返回 “等待” 结果,则 Pod 将保持在一个内部的 “等待中” 的 Pod 列表,同时该 Pod 的绑定周期启动时即直接阻塞直到得到批准。如果超时发生,等待 变成 拒绝,并且 Pod 将返回调度队列,从而触发不保留 插件。
说明: 尽管任何插件可以访问 “等待中” 状态的 Pod 列表并批准它们 (查看 FrameworkHandle)。我们希望只有允许插件可以批准处于 “等待中” 状态的 预留 Pod 的绑定。一旦 Pod 被批准了,它将发送到预绑定 阶段。

预绑定

预绑定插件用于执行 Pod 绑定前所需的任何工作。例如,一个预绑定插件可能需要提供网络卷并且在允许 Pod 运行在该节点之前将其挂载到目标节点上。

如果任何 PreBind 插件返回错误,则 Pod 将被拒绝 并且返回到调度队列中。

绑定

绑定插件用于将 Pod 绑定到节点上。直到所有的 PreBind 插件都完成,绑定插件才会被调用。每个绑定插件按照配置顺序被调用。绑定插件可以选择是否处理指定的 Pod。如果绑定插件选择处理 Pod,剩余的绑定插件将被跳过

绑定后

这是个信息性的扩展点。绑定后插件在 Pod 成功绑定后被调用。这是绑定周期的结尾,可用于清理相关的资源。

不保留

这是个信息性的扩展点。如果 Pod 被保留,然后在后面的阶段中被拒绝,则不保留插件将被通知。不保留插件应该清楚保留 Pod 的相关状态。

使用此扩展点的插件通常也使用保留

插件 API

插件 API 分为两个步骤。首先,插件必须注册并配置,然后才能使用扩展点接口。扩展点接口具有以下形式。

type Plugin interface {
   Name() string
}

type QueueSortPlugin interface {
   Plugin
   Less(*v1.pod, *v1.pod) bool
}

type PreFilterPlugin interface {
   Plugin
   PreFilter(context.Context, *framework.CycleState, *v1.pod) error
}

// ...

插件配置

你可以在调度器配置中启用或禁用插件。如果你在使用 Kubernetes v1.18 或更高版本,大部分调度插件 都在使用中且默认启用。

除了默认的插件,你同样可以实现自己的调度插件并且将他们与默认插件一起配置。你可以访问 调度插件 了解更多详情。

如果你正在使用 Kubernetes v1.18 或更高版本,你可以将一组插件设置为一个调度器配置文件,然后定义不同的配置文件来满足各类工作负载。 了解更多关于 多配置文件

最后修改 September 29, 2020 at 10:32 AM PST: Update scheduling-framework.md (f73f527fc)

Concepts

Edit This Page

Scheduling Framework

FEATURE STATE: Kubernetes v1.15 [alpha]

The scheduling framework is a pluggable architecture for Kubernetes Scheduler that makes scheduler customizations easy. It adds a new set of “plugin” APIs to the existing scheduler. Plugins are compiled into the scheduler. The APIs allow most scheduling features to be implemented as plugins, while keeping the scheduling “core” simple and maintainable. Refer to the design proposal of the scheduling framework for more technical information on the design of the framework.

Framework workflow

The Scheduling Framework defines a few extension points. Scheduler plugins register to be invoked at one or more extension points. Some of these plugins can change the scheduling decisions and some are informational only.

Each attempt to schedule one Pod is split into two phases, the scheduling cycle and the binding cycle.

Scheduling Cycle & Binding Cycle

The scheduling cycle selects a node for the Pod, and the binding cycle applies that decision to the cluster. Together, a scheduling cycle and binding cycle are referred to as a “scheduling context”.

Scheduling cycles are run serially, while binding cycles may run concurrently.

A scheduling or binding cycle can be aborted if the Pod is determined to be unschedulable or if there is an internal error. The Pod will be returned to the queue and retried.

Extension points

The following picture shows the scheduling context of a Pod and the extension points that the scheduling framework exposes. In this picture “Filter” is equivalent to “Predicate” and “Scoring” is equivalent to “Priority function”.

One plugin may register at multiple extension points to perform more complex or stateful tasks.

scheduling framework extension points

QueueSort

These plugins are used to sort Pods in the scheduling queue. A queue sort plugin essentially provides a Less(Pod1, Pod2) function. Only one queue sort plugin may be enabled at a time.

PreFilter

These plugins are used to pre-process info about the Pod, or to check certain conditions that the cluster or the Pod must meet. If a PreFilter plugin returns an error, the scheduling cycle is aborted.

Filter

These plugins are used to filter out nodes that cannot run the Pod. For each node, the scheduler will call filter plugins in their configured order. If any filter plugin marks the node as infeasible, the remaining plugins will not be called for that node. Nodes may be evaluated concurrently.

PreScore

These plugins are used to perform “pre-scoring” work, which generates a sharable state for Score plugins to use. If a PreScore plugin returns an error, the scheduling cycle is aborted.

Score

These plugins are used to rank nodes that have passed the filtering phase. The scheduler will call each scoring plugin for each node. There will be a well defined range of integers representing the minimum and maximum scores. After the NormalizeScore phase, the scheduler will combine node scores from all plugins according to the configured plugin weights.

NormalizeScore

These plugins are used to modify scores before the scheduler computes a final ranking of Nodes. A plugin that registers for this extension point will be called with the Score results from the same plugin. This is called once per plugin per scheduling cycle.

For example, suppose a plugin BlinkingLightScorer ranks Nodes based on how many blinking lights they have.

func ScoreNode(_ *v1.pod, n *v1.Node) (int, error) {
    return getBlinkingLightCount(n)
}

However, the maximum count of blinking lights may be small compared to NodeScoreMax. To fix this, BlinkingLightScorer should also register for this extension point.

func NormalizeScores(scores map[string]int) {
    highest := 0
    for _, score := range scores {
        highest = max(highest, score)
    }
    for node, score := range scores {
        scores[node] = score*NodeScoreMax/highest
    }
}

If any NormalizeScore plugin returns an error, the scheduling cycle is aborted.

Note: Plugins wishing to perform “pre-reserve” work should use the NormalizeScore extension point.

Reserve

This is an informational extension point. Plugins which maintain runtime state (aka “stateful plugins”) should use this extension point to be notified by the scheduler when resources on a node are being reserved for a given Pod. This happens before the scheduler actually binds the Pod to the Node, and it exists to prevent race conditions while the scheduler waits for the bind to succeed.

This is the last step in a scheduling cycle. Once a Pod is in the reserved state, it will either trigger Unreserve plugins (on failure) or PostBind plugins (on success) at the end of the binding cycle.

Permit

Permit plugins are invoked at the end of the scheduling cycle for each Pod, to prevent or delay the binding to the candidate node. A permit plugin can do one of the three things:

  1. approve
    Once all Permit plugins approve a Pod, it is sent for binding.

  2. deny
    If any Permit plugin denies a Pod, it is returned to the scheduling queue. This will trigger Unreserve plugins.

  3. wait (with a timeout)
    If a Permit plugin returns “wait”, then the Pod is kept in an internal “waiting” Pods list, and the binding cycle of this Pod starts but directly blocks until it gets approved. If a timeout occurs, wait becomes deny and the Pod is returned to the scheduling queue, triggering Unreserve plugins.

Note: While any plugin can access the list of “waiting” Pods and approve them (see FrameworkHandle), we expect only the permit plugins to approve binding of reserved Pods that are in “waiting” state. Once a Pod is approved, it is sent to the PreBind phase.

PreBind

These plugins are used to perform any work required before a Pod is bound. For example, a pre-bind plugin may provision a network volume and mount it on the target node before allowing the Pod to run there.

If any PreBind plugin returns an error, the Pod is rejected and returned to the scheduling queue.

Bind

These plugins are used to bind a Pod to a Node. Bind plugins will not be called until all PreBind plugins have completed. Each bind plugin is called in the configured order. A bind plugin may choose whether or not to handle the given Pod. If a bind plugin chooses to handle a Pod, the remaining bind plugins are skipped.

PostBind

This is an informational extension point. Post-bind plugins are called after a Pod is successfully bound. This is the end of a binding cycle, and can be used to clean up associated resources.

Unreserve

This is an informational extension point. If a Pod was reserved and then rejected in a later phase, then unreserve plugins will be notified. Unreserve plugins should clean up state associated with the reserved Pod.

Plugins that use this extension point usually should also use Reserve.

Plugin API

There are two steps to the plugin API. First, plugins must register and get configured, then they use the extension point interfaces. Extension point interfaces have the following form.

type Plugin interface {
    Name() string
}

type QueueSortPlugin interface {
    Plugin
    Less(*v1.pod, *v1.pod) bool
}

type PreFilterPlugin interface {
    Plugin
    PreFilter(context.Context, *framework.CycleState, *v1.pod) error
}

// ...

Plugin configuration

You can enable or disable plugins in the scheduler configuration. If you are using Kubernetes v1.18 or later, most scheduling plugins are in use and enabled by default.

In addition to default plugins, you can also implement your own scheduling plugins and get them configured along with default plugins. You can visit scheduler-plugins for more details.

If you are using Kubernetes v1.18 or later, you can configure a set of plugins as a scheduler profile and then define multiple profiles to fit various kinds of workload. Learn more at multiple profiles.

Feedback