概念

Edit This Page

干扰

本指南针对的是希望构建高可用性应用程序的应用所有者,他们有必要了解可能发生在 pod 上的干扰类型。

文档同样适用于想要执行自动化集群操作(例如升级和自动扩展集群)的集群管理员。

自愿干扰和非自愿干扰

Pod 不会消失,除非有人(用户或控制器)将其销毁,或者出现了不可避免的硬件或软件系统错误。

我们把这些不可避免的情况称为应用的非自愿干扰。例如:

  • 节点下层物理机的硬件故障
  • 集群管理员错误地删除虚拟机(实例)
  • 云提供商或虚拟机管理程序中的故障导致的虚拟机消失
  • 内核错误
  • 节点由于集群网络隔离从集群中消失
  • 由于节点资源不足导致 pod 被驱逐。

除了资源不足的情况,大多数用户应该都熟悉这些情况;它们不是特定于 Kubernetes 的。

我们称其他情况为自愿干扰。包括由应用程序所有者发起的操作和由集群管理员发起的操作。典型的应用程序所有者的 作包括:

  • 删除 deployment 或其他管理 pod 的控制器
  • 更新了 deployment 的 pod 模板导致 pod 重启
  • 直接删除 pod(例如,因为误操作)

集群管理员操作包括:

这些操作可能由集群管理员直接执行,也可能由集群管理员所使用的自动化工具执行,或者由集群托管提供商自动执行。

咨询集群管理员或联系云提供商,或者查询发布文档,以确定是否为集群启用了任何资源干扰源。如果没有启用,可以不用创建 Pod Disruption Budgets(Pod 干扰预算)

警告:

并非所有的自愿干扰都会受到 pod 干扰预算的限制。例如,删除 deployment 或 pod 的删除操作就会跳过 pod 干扰预算检查。

处理干扰

以下是减轻非自愿干扰的一些方法:

  • 确保 pod请求所需资源
  • 如果需要更高的可用性,请复制应用程序。(了解有关运行多副本的无状态有状态应用程序的信息。)
  • 为了在运行复制应用程序时获得更高的可用性,请跨机架(使用反亲和性)或跨区域(如果使用多区域集群)扩展应用程序。

自愿干扰的频率各不相同。在一个基本的 Kubernetes 集群中,根本没有自愿干扰。然而,集群管理 或托管提供商可能运行一些可能导致自愿干扰的额外服务。例如,节点软 更新可能导致自愿干扰。另外,集群(节点)自动缩放的某些 现可能导致碎片整理和紧缩节点的自愿干扰。集群 理员或托管提供商应该已经记录了各级别的自愿干扰(如果有的话)。

Kubernetes 提供特性来满足在出现频繁自愿干扰的同时运行高可用的应用程序。我们称这些特性为干扰预算

干扰预算工作原理

应用程序所有者可以为每个应用程序创建 PodDisruptionBudget 对象(PDB)。PDB 将限制在同一时间因自愿干扰导致的复制应用程序中宕机的 pod 数量。例如,基于定额的应用程序希望确保运行的副本数 永远不会低于仲裁所需的数量。Web 前端可能希望确保提供负载的副本数量永远不会低于总数的某个百分比。

集群管理员和托管提供商应该使用遵循 Pod Disruption Budgets 的接口(通过调用驱逐 API),而不是直接删除 pod 或 deployment。示例包括 kubectl drain 命令和 Kubernetes-on-GCE 集群升级脚本(cluster/gce/upgrade.sh)。

当集群管理员想排空一个节点时,可以使用 kubectl drain 命令。该命令试图驱逐机器上的所有 pod。驱逐请求可能会暂时被拒绝,且该工具定时重试失败的请求直到所有的 pod 都被终止,或者达到配置的超时时间。

PDB 指定应用程序可以容忍的副本数量(相当于应该有多少副本)。例如,具有 .spec.replicas: 5 的 deployment 在任何时间都应该有 5 个 pod。如果 PDB 允许其在某一时刻有 4 个副本,那么驱逐 API 将允许同一时刻仅有一个而不是两个 pod 自愿干扰。

使用标签选择器来指定构成应用程序的一组 pod,这与应用程序的控制器(deployment,stateful-set 等)选择 pod 的逻辑一样。

Pod 控制器的 .spec.replicas 计算“预期的” pod 数量。根据 pod 对象的 .metadata.ownerReferences 字段来发现控制器。

PDB 不能阻止非自愿干扰的发生,但是确实会计入 算。

由于应用程序的滚动升级而被删除或不可用的 pod 确实会计入干扰预算,但是控制器(如 deployment 和 stateful-set)在进行滚动升级时不受 PDB 的限制。应用程序更新期间的故障处理是在控制器的 spec 中配置的。(了解更新 deployment。)

当使用驱逐 API 驱逐 pod 时,pod 会被优雅地终止(参考 PodSpec 中的 terminationGracePeriodSeconds)。

PDB 例子

假设集群有 3 个节点,node-1node-3。集群上运行了一些应用。其中一个应用有 3 个副本,分别是 pod-apod-bpod-c。另外,还有一个不带 PDB 的无关 pod pod-x 也同样显示。最初,所有的 pod 分布如下:

node-1node-2node-3
pod-a availablepod-b availablepod-c available
pod-x available

3 个 pod 都是 deployment 的一部分,并且共同拥有同一个 PDB,要求 3 个 pod 中至少有 2 个 pod 始终处于可用状态。

例如,假设集群管理员想要重启系统,升级内核版本来修复内核中的 bug。集群管理员首先使用 kubectl drain 命令尝试排空 node-1 节点。命令尝试驱逐 pod-apod-x。操作立即就成功了。两个 pod 同时进入 terminating 状态。这时的集群处于下面的状态:

node-1 drainingnode-2node-3
pod-a terminatingpod-b availablepod-c available
pod-x terminating

Deployment 控制器观察到其中一个 pod 正在终止,因此它创建了一个替代 pod pod-d。由于 node-1 被封锁(cordon),pod-d 落在另一个节点上。同样其他控制器也创建了 pod-y 作为 pod-x 的替代品。

(注意:对于 StatefulSet 来说,pod-a(也称为 pod-0)需要在替换 pod 创建之前完全终止,替代它的也称为 pod-0,但是具有不同的 UID。反之,样例也适用于 StatefulSet。)

当前集群的状态如下:

node-1 drainingnode-2node-3
pod-a terminatingpod-b availablepod-c available
pod-x terminatingpod-d startingpod-y

在某一时刻,pod 被终止,集群如下所示:

node-1 drainednode-2node-3
pod-b availablepod-c available
pod-d startingpod-y

此时,如果一个急躁的集群管理员试图排空(drain)node-2node-3,drain 命令将被阻塞,因为对于 deployment 来说只有 2 个可用的 pod,并且它的 PDB 至少需要 2 个。经过一段时间,pod-d 变得可用。

集群状态如下所示:

node-1 drainednode-2node-3
pod-b availablepod-c available
pod-d availablepod-y

现在,集群管理员试图排空(drain)node-2。drain 命令将尝试按照某种顺序驱逐两个 pod,假设先是 pod-b,然后是 pod-d。命令成功驱逐 pod-b,但是当它尝试驱逐 pod-d时将被拒绝,因为对于 deployment 来说只剩一个可用的 pod 了。

Deployment 创建 pod-b 的替代 pod pod-e。因为集群中没有足够的资源来调度 pod-e,drain 命令再次阻塞。集群最终将是下面这种状态:

node-1 drainednode-2node-3no node
pod-b availablepod-c availablepod-e pending
pod-d availablepod-y

此时,集群管理员需要增加一个节点到集群中以继续升级操作。

可以看到 Kubernetes 如何改变干扰发生的速率,根据:

  • 应用程序需要多少个副本
  • 优雅关闭应用实例需要多长时间
  • 启动应用新实例需要多长时间
  • 控制器的类型
  • 集群的资源能力

分离集群所有者和应用所有者角色

通常,将集群管理者和应用所有者视为彼此了解有限的独立角色是很有用的。这种责任分离在下面这些场景下是有意义的:

  • 当有许多应用程序团队共用一个 Kubernetes 集群,并且有自然的专业角色
  • 当第三方工具或服务用于集群自动化管理

Pod 干扰预算通过在角色之间提供接口来支持这种分离。

如果你的组织中没有这样的责任分离,则可能不需要使用 Pod 干扰预算。

如何在集群上执行干扰操作

如果你是集群管理员,并且需要对集群中的所有节点执行干扰操作,例如节点或系统软件升级,则可以使用以下选项

  • 接受升级期间的停机时间。
  • 故障转移到另一个完整的副本集群。
    • 没有停机时间,但是对于重复的节点和人工协调成本可能是昂贵的。
  • 编写可容忍干扰的应用程序和使用 PDB。
    • 不停机。
    • 最小的资源重复。
    • 允许更多的集群管理自动化。
    • 编写可容忍干扰的应用程序是棘手的,但对于支持容忍自愿干扰所做的工作,和支持自动扩缩和容忍非 愿干扰所做工作相比,有大量的重叠

接下来

反馈

Concepts

Detailed explanations of Kubernetes system concepts and abstractions.

Edit This Page

Disruptions

This guide is for application owners who want to build highly available applications, and thus need to understand what types of Disruptions can happen to Pods.

It is also for Cluster Administrators who want to perform automated cluster actions, like upgrading and autoscaling clusters.

Voluntary and Involuntary Disruptions

Pods do not disappear until someone (a person or a controller) destroys them, or there is an unavoidable hardware or system software error.

We call these unavoidable cases involuntary disruptions to an application. Examples are:

Except for the out-of-resources condition, all these conditions should be familiar to most users; they are not specific to Kubernetes.

We call other cases voluntary disruptions. These include both actions initiated by the application owner and those initiated by a Cluster Administrator. Typical application owner actions include:

Cluster Administrator actions include:

These actions might be taken directly by the cluster administrator, or by automation run by the cluster administrator, or by your cluster hosting provider.

Ask your cluster administrator or consult your cloud provider or distribution documentation to determine if any sources of voluntary disruptions are enabled for your cluster. If none are enabled, you can skip creating Pod Disruption Budgets.

Dealing with Disruptions

Here are some ways to mitigate involuntary disruptions:

The frequency of voluntary disruptions varies. On a basic Kubernetes cluster, there are no voluntary disruptions at all. However, your cluster administrator or hosting provider may run some additional services which cause voluntary disruptions. For example, rolling out node software updates can cause voluntary updates. Also, some implementations of cluster (node) autoscaling may cause voluntary disruptions to defragment and compact nodes. You cluster administrator or hosting provider should have documented what level of voluntary disruptions, if any, to expect.

Kubernetes offers features to help run highly available applications at the same time as frequent voluntary disruptions. We call this set of features Disruption Budgets.

How Disruption Budgets Work

An Application Owner can create a PodDisruptionBudget object (PDB) for each application. A PDB limits the number pods of a replicated application that are down simultaneously from voluntary disruptions. For example, a quorum-based application would like to ensure that the number of replicas running is never brought below the number needed for a quorum. A web front end might want to ensure that the number of replicas serving load never falls below a certain percentage of the total.

Cluster managers and hosting providers should use tools which respect Pod Disruption Budgets by calling the Eviction API instead of directly deleting pods. Examples are the kubectl drain command and the Kubernetes-on-GCE cluster upgrade script (cluster/gce/upgrade.sh).

When a cluster administrator wants to drain a node they use the kubectl drain command. That tool tries to evict all the pods on the machine. The eviction request may be temporarily rejected, and the tool periodically retries all failed requests until all pods are terminated, or until a configurable timeout is reached.

A PDB specifies the number of replicas that an application can tolerate having, relative to how many it is intended to have. For example, a Deployment which has a spec.replicas: 5 is supposed to have 5 pods at any given time. If its PDB allows for there to be 4 at a time, then the Eviction API will allow voluntary disruption of one, but not two pods, at a time.

The group of pods that comprise the application is specified using a label selector, the same as the one used by the application’s controller (deployment, stateful-set, etc).

The “intended” number of pods is computed from the .spec.replicas of the pods controller. The controller is discovered from the pods using the .metadata.ownerReferences of the object.

PDBs cannot prevent involuntary disruptions from occurring, but they do count against the budget.

Pods which are deleted or unavailable due to a rolling upgrade to an application do count against the disruption budget, but controllers (like deployment and stateful-set) are not limited by PDBs when doing rolling upgrades – the handling of failures during application updates is configured in the controller spec. (Learn about updating a deployment.)

When a pod is evicted using the eviction API, it is gracefully terminated (see terminationGracePeriodSeconds in PodSpec.)

PDB Example

Consider a cluster with 3 nodes, node-1 through node-3. The cluster is running several applications. One of them has 3 replicas initially called pod-a, pod-b, and pod-c. Another, unrelated pod without a PDB, called pod-x, is also shown. Initially, the pods are laid out as follows:

node-1 node-2 node-3
pod-a available pod-b available pod-c available
pod-x available    

All 3 pods are part of a deployment, and they collectively have a PDB which requires there be at least 2 of the 3 pods to be available at all times.

For example, assume the cluster administrator wants to reboot into a new kernel version to fix a bug in the kernel. The cluster administrator first tries to drain node-1 using the kubectl drain command. That tool tries to evict pod-a and pod-x. This succeeds immediately. Both pods go into the terminating state at the same time. This puts the cluster in this state:

node-1 draining node-2 node-3
pod-a terminating pod-b available pod-c available
pod-x terminating    

The deployment notices that one of the pods is terminating, so it creates a replacement called pod-d. Since node-1 is cordoned, it lands on another node. Something has also created pod-y as a replacement for pod-x.

(Note: for a StatefulSet, pod-a, which would be called something like pod-1, would need to terminate completely before its replacement, which is also called pod-1 but has a different UID, could be created. Otherwise, the example applies to a StatefulSet as well.)

Now the cluster is in this state:

node-1 draining node-2 node-3
pod-a terminating pod-b available pod-c available
pod-x terminating pod-d starting pod-y

At some point, the pods terminate, and the cluster looks like this:

node-1 drained node-2 node-3
  pod-b available pod-c available
  pod-d starting pod-y

At this point, if an impatient cluster administrator tries to drain node-2 or node-3, the drain command will block, because there are only 2 available pods for the deployment, and its PDB requires at least 2. After some time passes, pod-d becomes available.

The cluster state now looks like this:

node-1 drained node-2 node-3
  pod-b available pod-c available
  pod-d available pod-y

Now, the cluster administrator tries to drain node-2. The drain command will try to evict the two pods in some order, say pod-b first and then pod-d. It will succeed at evicting pod-b. But, when it tries to evict pod-d, it will be refused because that would leave only one pod available for the deployment.

The deployment creates a replacement for pod-b called pod-e. However, not there are not enough resources in the cluster to schedule pod-e. So, the drain will again block. The cluster may end up in this state:

node-1 drained node-2 node-3 no node
  pod-b available pod-c available pod-e pending
  pod-d available pod-y  

At this point, the cluster administrator needs to add a node back to the cluster to proceed with the upgrade.

You can see how Kubernetes varies the rate at which disruptions can happen, according to:

Separating Cluster Owner and Application Owner Roles

Often, it is useful to think of the Cluster Manager and Application Owner as separate roles with limited knowledge of each other. This separation of responsibilities may make sense in these scenarios:

Pod Disruption Budgets support this separation of roles by providing an interface between the roles.

If you do not have such a separation of responsibilities in your organization, you may not need to use Pod Disruption Budgets.

How to perform Disruptive Actions on your Cluster

If you are a Cluster Administrator, and you need to perform a disruptive action on all the nodes in your cluster, such as a node or system software upgrade, here are some options:

What’s next

Analytics

Create an Issue Edit this Page