该页面将描述 Pod 的生命周期。

Pod phase

Pod 的 status 定义在 PodStatus 对象中,其中有一个 phase 字段。

Pod 的运行阶段(phase)是 Pod 在其生命周期中的简单宏观概述。该阶段并不是对容器或 Pod 的综合汇总,也不是为了做为综合状态机。

Pod 相位的数量和含义是严格指定的。除了本文档中列举的内容外,不应该再假定 Pod 有其他的 phase 值。

下面是 phase 可能的值:

Pod 状态

Pod 有一个 PodStatus 对象,其中包含一个 PodCondition 数组。 PodCondition 数组的每个元素都有一个 type 字段和一个 status 字段。type 字段是字符串,可能的值有 PodScheduled、Ready、Initialized 和 Unschedulable。status 字段是一个字符串,可能的值有 True、False 和 Unknown。

容器探针

探针 是由 kubelet 对容器执行的定期诊断。要执行诊断,kubelet 调用由容器实现的 Handler。有三种类型的处理程序:

每次探测都将获得以下三种结果之一:

Kubelet 可以选择是否执行在容器上运行的两种探针执行和做出反应:

该什么时候使用存活(liveness)和就绪(readiness)探针?

如果容器中的进程能够在遇到问题或不健康的情况下自行崩溃,则不一定需要存活探针; kubelet 将根据 Pod 的restartPolicy 自动执行正确的操作。

如果您希望容器在探测失败时被杀死并重新启动,那么请指定一个存活探针,并指定restartPolicy 为 Always 或 OnFailure。

如果要仅在探测成功时才开始向 Pod 发送流量,请指定就绪探针。在这种情况下,就绪探针可能与存活探针相同,但是 spec 中的就绪探针的存在意味着 Pod 将在没有接收到任何流量的情况下启动,并且只有在探针探测成功后才开始接收流量。

如果您希望容器能够自行维护,您可以指定一个就绪探针,该探针检查与存活探针不同的端点。

请注意,如果您只想在 Pod 被删除时能够排除请求,则不一定需要使用就绪探针;在删除 Pod 时,Pod 会自动将自身置于未完成状态,无论就绪探针是否存在。当等待 Pod 中的容器停止时,Pod 仍处于未完成状态。

Pod 和容器状态

有关 Pod 容器状态的详细信息,请参阅 PodStatusContainerStatus。请注意,报告的 Pod 状态信息取决于当前的 ContainerState

重启策略

PodSpec 中有一个 restartPolicy 字段,可能的值为 Always、OnFailure 和 Never。默认为 Always。 restartPolicy 适用于 Pod 中的所有容器。restartPolicy 仅指通过同一节点上的 kubelet 重新启动容器。失败的容器由 kubelet 以五分钟为上限的指数退避延迟(10秒,20秒,40秒…)重新启动,并在成功执行十分钟后重置。如 Pod 文档 中所述,一旦绑定到一个节点,Pod 将永远不会重新绑定到另一个节点。

Pod 的生命

一般来说,Pod 不会消失,直到人为销毁他们。这可能是一个人或控制器。这个规则的唯一例外是成功或失败的 phase 超过一段时间(由 master 确定)的Pod将过期并被自动销毁。

有三种可用的控制器:

所有这三种类型的控制器都包含一个 PodTemplate。建议创建适当的控制器,让它们来创建 Pod,而不是直接自己创建 Pod。这是因为单独的 Pod 在机器故障的情况下没有办法自动复原,而控制器却可以。

如果节点死亡或与集群的其余部分断开连接,则 Kubernetes 将应用一个策略将丢失节点上的所有 Pod 的 phase 设置为 Failed。

示例

高级 liveness 探针示例

存活探针由 kubelet 来执行,因此所有的请求都在 kubelet 的网络命名空间中进行。

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
  labels:
    test: liveness
  name: liveness-http
spec:
  containers:
  - args:
    - /server
    image: gcr.io/google_containers/liveness
    livenessProbe:
      httpGet:
        # when "host" is not defined, "PodIP" will be used
        # host: my-host
        # when "scheme" is not defined, "HTTP" scheme will be used. Only "HTTP" and "HTTPS" are allowed
        # scheme: HTTPS
        path: /healthz
        port: 8080
        httpHeaders:
        - name: X-Custom-Header
          value: Awesome
      initialDelaySeconds: 15
      timeoutSeconds: 1
    name: liveness

状态示例

Concepts

Detailed explanations of Kubernetes system concepts and abstractions.

Edit This Page

Pod Lifecycle

This page describes the lifecycle of a Pod.

Pod phase

A Pod’s status field is a PodStatus object, which has a phase field.

The phase of a Pod is a simple, high-level summary of where the Pod is in its lifecycle. The phase is not intended to be a comprehensive rollup of observations of Container or Pod state, nor is it intended to be a comprehensive state machine.

The number and meanings of Pod phase values are tightly guarded. Other than what is documented here, nothing should be assumed about Pods that have a given phase value.

Here are the possible values for phase:

Pod conditions

A Pod has a PodStatus, which has an array of PodConditions. Each element of the PodCondition array has a type field and a status field. The type field is a string, with possible values PodScheduled, Ready, Initialized, and Unschedulable. The status field is a string, with possible values True, False, and Unknown.

Container probes

A Probe is a diagnostic performed periodically by the kubelet on a Container. To perform a diagnostic, the kublet calls a Handler implemented by the Container. There are three types of handlers:

Each probe has one of three results:

The kubelet can optionally perform and react to two kinds of probes on running Containers:

When should you use liveness or readiness probes?

If the process in your Container is able to crash on its own whenever it encounters an issue or becomes unhealthy, you do not necessarily need a liveness probe; the kubelet will automatically perform the correct action in accordance with the Pod’s restartPolicy.

If you’d like your Container to be killed and restarted if a probe fails, then specify a liveness probe, and specify a restartPolicy of Always or OnFailure.

If you’d like to start sending traffic to a Pod only when a probe succeeds, specify a readiness probe. In this case, the readiness probe might be the same as the liveness probe, but the existence of the readiness probe in the spec means that the Pod will start without receiving any traffic and only start receiving traffic after the probe starts succeeding.

If you want your Container to be able to take itself down for maintenance, you can specify a readiness probe that checks an endpoint specific to readiness that is different from the liveness probe.

Note that if you just want to be able to drain requests when the Pod is deleted, you do not necessarily need a readiness probe; on deletion, the Pod automatically puts itself into an unready state regardless of whether the readiness probe exists. The Pod remains in the unready state while it waits for the Containers in the Pod to stop.

Pod and Container status

For detailed information about Pod Container status, see PodStatus and ContainerStatus. Note that the information reported as Pod status depends on the current ContainerState.

Restart policy

A PodSpec has a restartPolicy field with possible values Always, OnFailure, and Never. The default value is Always. restartPolicy applies to all Containers in the Pod. restartPolicy only refers to restarts of the Containers by the kubelet on the same node. Failed Containers that are restarted by the kubelet are restarted with an exponential back-off delay (10s, 20s, 40s …) capped at five minutes, and is reset after ten minutes of successful execution. As discussed in the Pods document, once bound to a node, a Pod will never be rebound to another node.

Pod lifetime

In general, Pods do not disappear until someone destroys them. This might be a human or a controller. The only exception to this rule is that Pods with a phase of Succeeded or Failed for more than some duration (determined by the master) will expire and be automatically destroyed.

Three types of controllers are available:

All three types of controllers contain a PodTemplate. It is recommended to create the appropriate controller and let it create Pods, rather than directly create Pods yourself. That is because Pods alone are not resilient to machine failures, but controllers are.

If a node dies or is disconnected from the rest of the cluster, Kubernetes applies a policy for setting the phase of all Pods on the lost node to Failed.

Examples

Advanced liveness probe example

Liveness probes are executed by the kubelet, so all requests are made in the kubelet network namespace.

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
  labels:
    test: liveness
  name: liveness-http
spec:
  containers:
  - args:
    - /server
    image: gcr.io/google_containers/liveness
    livenessProbe:
      httpGet:
        # when "host" is not defined, "PodIP" will be used
        # host: my-host
        # when "scheme" is not defined, "HTTP" scheme will be used. Only "HTTP" and "HTTPS" are allowed
        # scheme: HTTPS
        path: /healthz
        port: 8080
        httpHeaders:
          - name: X-Custom-Header
            value: Awesome
      initialDelaySeconds: 15
      timeoutSeconds: 1
    name: liveness

Example states

What’s next

Analytics

Create an Issue Edit this Page