Contribuer à la documentation Kubernetes

Edit This Page

Commencez à contribuer

Si vous souhaitez commencer à contribuer à la documentation de Kubernetes, cette page et les rubriques associées peuvent vous aider à démarrer. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’être un développeur ou un rédacteur technique pour avoir un impact important sur la documentation et l’expérience utilisateur de Kubernetes ! Tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour les sujets de cette page est un compte Github et un navigateur web.

Si vous recherchez des informations sur la façon de commencer à contribuer aux référentiels de code Kubernetes, reportez-vous à la section sur les directives de la communauté Kubernetes.

Les bases de notre documentation

La documentation de Kubernetes est écrite en Markdown puis traitée et déployée à l’aide de Hugo. Le code source est sur Github: https://github.com/kubernetes/website. La majeure partie de la documentation anglaise est stockée dans /content/en/docs/. Une partie de la documentation de référence est automatiquement générée à partir de scripts du répertoire update-imported-docs/.

Vous pouvez trier les issues, modifier le contenu et passer en revue les modifications des autres, le tout à partir du site Web de Github. Vous pouvez également utiliser l’historique intégré et les outils de recherche de Github.

Toutes les tâches ne peuvent pas être effectuées dans l’interface utilisateur Github, mais elles sont décrites dans les guides de contribution intermédiaire et avancé.

Participer à SIG Docs

La documentation de Kubernetes est gérée par un groupe d’intérêt spécial (Special Interest Group (SIG)) appelé SIG Docs. Nous communiquons via un canal Slack, une liste de diffusion et des réunions vidéo hebdomadaires. Les nouveaux participants sont les bienvenus. Pour plus d’informations, voir Participer au SIG-docs.

Style guidelines

Nous maintenons un guide de style avec des informations sur les choix de la communauté SIG Docs concernant la grammaire, la syntaxe, le format des sources et les conventions typographiques. Avant de faire votre première contribution, parcourez le guide de style et utilisez-le lorsque vous avez des questions.

Les modifications apportées au guide de style sont effectuées par SIG Docs en tant que groupe. Pour proposer un changement ou un ajout, ajoutez-le à l’ordre du jour pour une réunion à venir sur les documents SIG et assister à la réunion pour participer à la discussion. Voir le sujet contribution avancée pour plus d’informations.

Modèle de page

Nous utilisons des modèles de page pour contrôler la présentation de nos pages de documentation. Assurez-vous de comprendre le fonctionnement de ces modèles en consultant Utilisation de modèles de page.

Hugo shortcodes

La documentation de Kubernetes est convertie de Markdown à HTML avec Hugo. Nous utilisons les shortcodes standard Hugo, ainsi que quelques-uns qui sont personnalisés dans la documentation Kubernetes. Voyez “Shortcodes Hugo personnalisés” pour savoir comment les utiliser.

Multilingue

La source de la documentation est disponible en plusieurs langues dans /content/. Chaque langue a son propre dossier avec un code à deux lettres déterminé par le standard ISO 639-1. Par exemple, la source de la documentation anglaise est stockée dans /content/en/docs/.

Pour plus d’informations sur la contribution à la documentation dans plusieurs langues, consultez “Traduire le contenu” dans le guide de contribution intermédiaire.

Si vous souhaitez démarrer une nouvelle traduction, voir “Traduction”.

Déposer les problèmes pouvant faire l’objet d’une action

Toute personne possédant un compte Github peut soumettre un problème (rapport de bogue) à la documentation de Kubernetes. Si vous voyez quelque chose qui ne va pas, même si vous ne savez pas comment le réparer, ouvrez un ticket. L’exception à cette règle est un petit bug, comme une faute de frappe, que vous souhaitez réparer vous-même. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez plutôt le réparer sans déposer un bogue d’abord.

Comment ouvrir un ticket

Comment créer de bons tickets

Pour nous assurer que nous comprenons votre problème et pouvons y donner suite, gardez à l’esprit ces directives:

Participer aux discussions SIG Docs

L’équipe SIG Docs communique à l’aide des mécanismes suivants:

Note: Vous pouvez également consulter la réunion hebdomadaire de SIG Docs sur Calendrier des réunions de la communauté Kubernetes.

Améliorer le contenu existant

Pour améliorer le contenu existant, vous déposez une pull request (PR) après avoir créé un fork. Ces deux termes sont spécifiques à Github. Pour les besoins de cette rubrique, vous n’avez pas besoin de tout savoir à leur sujet, car vous pouvez tout faire à l’aide de votre navigateur Web. Quand vous passerez au Guide des contributeurs docs intermédiaires, vous aurez besoin de plus de connaissances en terminologie Git.

Note: Développeurs de code Kubernetes: Si vous documentez une nouvelle fonctionnalité pour une prochaine version de Kubernetes, votre processus est un peu différent. Voir Documenter une fonctionnalité pour des directives de processus et des informations sur les délais.

Signer le CLA

Avant de pouvoir apporter du code ou de la documentation à Kubernetes, vous devez lire le Guide du contributeur et signer le Contributor License Agreement (CLA). Ne vous inquiétez pas, cela ne prend pas longtemps !

Trouvez quelque chose sur lequel travailler

Si vous voyez quelque chose que vous souhaitez réparer immédiatement, suivez simplement les instructions ci-dessous. Vous n’avez pas besoin de ouvrir un ticket (bien que vous puissiez certainement).

Si vous souhaitez commencer par trouver un problème existant sur lequel travailler, allez à https://github.com/kubernetes/website/issues et chercher des problèmes avec le label good first issue (vous pouvez utiliser ce raccourci). Lisez tous les commentaires et assurez-vous qu’il n’ya pas de requête ouverte contre le problème et que personne n’a laissé de commentaire indiquant qu’ils travaillent sur le problème récemment (une règle de 3 jours est une bonne règle). Laissez un commentaire indiquant que vous souhaitez travailler sur la question.

Choisissez quelle branche Git utiliser

L’aspect le plus important de la soumission d’une pull requests c’est choisir la branche sur laquelle baser votre travail. Utilisez ces directives pour prendre la décision:

Si vous ne savez toujours pas quelle branche choisir, demandez #sig-docs sur Slack ou assistez à une réunion hebdomadaire de documents SIG pour obtenir des précisions.

Soumettre une pull request

Suivez ces étapes pour soumettre une demande d’extraction afin d’améliorer la documentation de Kubernetes.

  1. Sur la page où vous voyez le problème, cliquez sur l’icône en forme de crayon en haut à gauche. Une nouvelle page apparaît avec un texte d’aide.
  2. Cliquez sur le premier bouton bleu, qui a le texte Edit <page name>.

    Si vous n’avez jamais créé de fork du référentiel de documentation Kubernetes, vous êtes invité à le faire. Créez le fork sous votre nom d’utilisateur Github, plutôt que celui d’une autre organisation dont vous pourriez être membre. Le fork a généralement une URL telle que https://github.com/<nom d'utilisateur>/website, à moins que vous n’ayez déjà un dépôt avec un nom en conflit (website).

    La raison pour laquelle vous êtes invité à créer un fork est que vous n’avez pas le droit de pousser une branche directement dans le référentiel définitif de Kubernetes.

  3. L’éditeur Github Markdown apparaît avec le fichier source Markdown chargé. Faites vos changements. Sous l’éditeur, remplissez le formulaire Propose file change. Le premier champ est le résumé de votre message de validation et ne doit pas dépasser 50 caractères. Le deuxième champ est facultatif, mais peut inclure plus de détails si nécessaire.

    Note: Ne pas inclure de références à d’autres Github issues ou pull requests dans votre message de commit. Vous pouvez les ajouter ultérieurement à la description de la demande d’extraction.

    Cliquez sur Propose file change. La modification est enregistrée en tant que commit dans une nouvelle branche de votre branche, qui porte automatiquement le nom suivant: patch-1.

  4. L’écran suivant récapitule les modifications que vous avez apportées en comparant votre nouvelle branche ( head fork et compare boîtes de sélection) à l’état actuel de base fork et base branche (master sur le dépôt kubernetes/website par défaut). Vous pouvez modifier n’importe quelle boîte de sélection, mais ne le faites pas maintenant. Jetez un coup d’œil à la visionneuse de différences en bas de l’écran et, si tout se présente bien, cliquez sur Create pull request.

    Note: Si vous ne voulez pas créer la pull request maintenant, vous pouvez le faire plus tard, en accédant à l’URL principale du référentiel de site Web Kubernetes ou du référentiel de votre fork. Le site Web Github vous invitera à créer la pull request s’il détecte que vous avez poussé une nouvelle branche vers votre fork.
  5. L’écran Open a pull request apparait. Le sujet de la demande d’extraction est identique au résumé de validation, mais vous pouvez le modifier si nécessaire. Le corps est rempli par votre message de validation étendu (s’il est présent) et par un template. Lisez le template et remplissez les informations demandées, puis supprimez le texte supplémentaire. Laissez la case à cocher selectionnée Allow edits from maintainers. Cliquez sur Create pull request.

    Toutes nos félicitations ! Votre pull request est disponible dans Pull requests.

    Après quelques minutes, vous pouvez prévisualiser le site Web contenant les modifications apportées par votre PR. Aller sur l’onglet Conversation de votre PR et cliquez sur le lien Details pour le test deploy/netlify, près du bas de la page. Il s’ouvre dans la même fenêtre de navigateur par défaut.

  6. Attendez la revue. En général, les relecteurs sont suggérés par le k8s-ci-robot. Si un réviseur vous demande d’apporter des modifications, vous pouvez aller à l’onglet Files changed et cliquez sur l’icône en forme de crayon sur les fichiers modifiés par la demande d’extraction. Lorsque vous enregistrez le fichier modifié, un nouveau commit est créé dans la branche surveillée par la pull request.

  7. Si votre modification est acceptée, un relecteur merge votre pull request, et le changement est en direct sur le site Web de Kubernetes quelques minutes plus tard.

Ce n’est qu’un moyen de soumettre une pull request. Si vous êtes déjà un utilisateur expérimenté de Git et Github, vous pouvez utiliser une interface graphique locale ou un client Git en ligne de commande au lieu d’utiliser l’interface utilisateur de Github. Quelques notions de base sur l’utilisation du client Git en ligne de commande sont abordées dans la section intermédiaire du guide des contributeurs.

Relecture des pull requests de documentation

Les personnes qui ne sont pas encore des approbateurs ou des relecteurs peuvent quand même relire des pull requests. Les avis ne sont pas considérés comme “contraignants”, ce qui signifie que votre avis seul ne causera pas un merge de la pull request. Cependant, cela peut toujours être utile. Même si vous ne laissez aucun commentaire, vous pourrez avoir une idée des conventions pull request, de l’étiquette des interactions entre les différents membres et ainsi vous habituer au workflow.

  1. Aller à https://github.com/kubernetes/website/pulls. Vous voyez une liste de toutes les pull request ouvertes sur le Kubernetes website et la documentation.

  2. Par défaut, le seul filtre appliqué est open, donc vous ne voyez pas les pull requests qui ont déjà été fermées ou fusionnées. C’est une bonne idée d’appliquer le filtre cncf-cla: yes, et pour votre premier examen, c’est une bonne idée d’ajouter size/S ou size/XS. Le label size est appliqué automatiquement en fonction du nombre de lignes de code que la PR modifie. Vous pouvez appliquer des filtres en utilisation les boites de sélection en haut de la page, ou utilisez directement ce raccourci pour voir seulement les petites PRs. Tous les filtres sont combinés (opérateur AND), de sorte que vous ne pouvez pas rechercher size/XS et size/S dans la même requête.

  3. Aller à l’onglet Files changed. Parcourez les modifications introduites dans la PR et, le cas échéant, les problèmes liés. Si vous constatez un problème ou des améliorations à apporter, passez la souris sur la ligne et cliquez sur le symbole + qui apparaît.

    Vous pouvez taper un commentaire et choisir soit Add single comment ou Start a review. En règle générale, il est préférable de commencer une revue, car elle vous permet de laisser plusieurs commentaires et d’avertir le propriétaire de la PR uniquement lorsque vous avez terminé la revue, plutôt qu’envoyer une notification distincte pour chaque commentaire.

  4. Lorsque vous avez terminé, cliquez sur Review changes en haut de la page. Vous pouvez résumer votre avis et choisir de commenter, approuver ou demander des modifications. Les nouveaux contributeurs doivent toujours choisir Comment.

Merci d’avoir commenté une pull request ! Lorsque vous débutez dans le projet, il est judicieux de demander votre avis sur votre pull request. Le canal Slack #sig-docs est un excellent endroit pour faire cela.

Écrire un article de blog

Tout le monde peut écrire un article de blog et le soumettre pour examen. Les articles de blogs ne doivent pas être de nature commerciale et doivent comporter un contenu qui s’appliquera de manière large à la communauté Kubernetes.

Pour soumettre un article de blog, vous pouvez soit le soumettre en utilisant le Formulaire de soumission de blog Kubernetes, soit en suivant les étapes ci-dessous :

  1. Signez le CLA si vous ne l’avez pas encore fait.
  2. Consultez le format Markdown pour les articles de blog existants dans le dépôt du website.
  3. Rédigez votre article de blog dans un éditeur de texte de votre choix.
  4. Sur le même lien à partir de l’étape 2, cliquez sur le bouton Create new file. Collez votre contenu dans l’éditeur. Nommez le fichier pour qu’il corresponde au titre proposé de l’article de blog, mais ne mettez pas la date dans le nom du fichier. Les réviseurs de blog travailleront avec vous sur le nom de fichier final et la date de publication du blog.
  5. Lorsque vous enregistrez le fichier, Github vous guidera à travers le processus d’une pull request.
  6. Un critique de publication de blog examinera votre soumission et travaillera avec vous sur les commentaires et les détails finaux. Lorsque l’article du blog est approuvé, la publication du blog est planifiée.

Soumettre une étude de cas

Des études de cas montrent comment les entreprises utilisent Kubernetes pour résoudre des problèmes concrets. Elles sont écrites en collaboration avec l’équipe marketing de Kubernetes, qui est gérée par la CNCF.

Regardez la source des études de cas existantes. Utilisez le Formulaire de soumission d’étude de cas Kubernetes soumettre votre proposition.

A suivre

Si vous êtes à l’aise avec toutes les tâches décrites dans cette rubrique et que vous souhaitez vous engager plus profondément dans l’équipe de documentation de Kubernetes, lisez le guide de contribution de la documentation intermédiaire.

Feedback

Contribute to Kubernetes docs

Edit This Page

Start contributing

If you want to get started contributing to the Kubernetes documentation, this page and its linked topics can help you get started. You don’t need to be a developer or a technical writer to make a big impact on the Kubernetes documentation and user experience! All you need for the topics on this page is a GitHub account and a web browser.

If you’re looking for information on how to start contributing to Kubernetes code repositories, refer to the Kubernetes community guidelines.

The basics about our docs

The Kubernetes documentation is written in Markdown and processed and deployed using Hugo. The source is in GitHub at https://github.com/kubernetes/website. Most of the documentation source is stored in /content/en/docs/. Some of the reference documentation is automatically generated from scripts in the update-imported-docs/ directory.

You can file issues, edit content, and review changes from others, all from the GitHub website. You can also use GitHub’s embedded history and search tools.

Not all tasks can be done in the GitHub UI, but these are discussed in the intermediate and advanced docs contribution guides.

Participating in SIG Docs

The Kubernetes documentation is maintained by a Special Interest GroupCommunity members who collectively manage an ongoing piece or aspect of the larger Kubernetes open source project. (SIG) called SIG Docs. We communicate using a Slack channel, a mailing list, and weekly video meetings. New participants are welcome. For more information, see Participating in SIG Docs.

Content guidelines

The SIG Docs community created guidelines about what kind of content is allowed in the Kubernetes documentation. Look over the Documentation Content Guide to determine if the content contribution you want to make is allowed. You can ask questions about allowed content in the #sig-docs Slack channel.

Style guidelines

We maintain a style guide with information about choices the SIG Docs community has made about grammar, syntax, source formatting, and typographic conventions. Look over the style guide before you make your first contribution, and use it when you have questions.

Changes to the style guide are made by SIG Docs as a group. To propose a change or addition, add it to the agenda for an upcoming SIG Docs meeting, and attend the meeting to participate in the discussion. See the advanced contribution topic for more information.

Page templates

We use page templates to control the presentation of our documentation pages. Be sure to understand how these templates work by reviewing Using page templates.

Hugo shortcodes

The Kubernetes documentation is transformed from Markdown to HTML using Hugo. We make use of the standard Hugo shortcodes, as well as a few that are custom to the Kubernetes documentation. See Custom Hugo shortcodes for information about how to use them.

Multiple languages

Documentation source is available in multiple languages in /content/. Each language has its own folder with a two-letter code determined by the ISO 639-1 standard. For example, English documentation source is stored in /content/en/docs/.

For more information about contributing to documentation in multiple languages, see “Localize content” in the intermediate contributing guide.

If you’re interested in starting a new localization, see “Localization”.

File actionable issues

Anyone with a GitHub account can file an issue (bug report) against the Kubernetes documentation. If you see something wrong, even if you have no idea how to fix it, file an issue. The exception to this rule is a tiny bug like a typo that you intend to fix yourself. In that case, you can instead fix it without filing a bug first.

How to file an issue

  • On an existing page

    If you see a problem in an existing page in the Kubernetes docs, go to the bottom of the page and click the Create an Issue button. If you are not currently logged in to GitHub, log in. A GitHub issue form appears with some pre-populated content.

    Using Markdown, fill in as many details as you can. In places where you see empty square brackets ([ ]), put an x between the set of brackets that represents the appropriate choice. If you have a proposed solution to fix the issue, add it.

  • Request a new page

    If you think content should exist, but you aren’t sure where it should go or you don’t think it fits within the pages that currently exist, you can still file an issue. You can either choose an existing page near where you think the new content should go and file the issue from that page, or go straight to https://github.com/kubernetes/website/issues/new/ and file the issue from there.

How to file great issues

To ensure that we understand your issue and can act on it, keep these guidelines in mind:

  • Use the issue template, and fill out as many details as you can.
  • Clearly explain the specific impact the issue has on users.
  • Limit the scope of a given issue to a reasonable unit of work. For problems with a large scope, break them down into smaller issues.

    For instance, “Fix the security docs” is not an actionable issue, but “Add details to the ‘Restricting network access’ topic” might be.

  • If the issue relates to another issue or pull request, you can refer to it either by its full URL or by the issue or pull request number prefixed with a # character. For instance, Introduced by #987654.

  • Be respectful and avoid venting. For instance, “The docs about X suck” is not helpful or actionable feedback. The Code of Conduct also applies to interactions on Kubernetes GitHub repositories.

Participate in SIG Docs discussions

The SIG Docs team communicates using the following mechanisms:

Note: You can also check the SIG Docs weekly meeting on the Kubernetes community meetings calendar.

Improve existing content

To improve existing content, you file a pull request (PR) after creating a fork. Those two terms are specific to GitHub. For the purposes of this topic, you don’t need to know everything about them, because you can do everything using your web browser. When you continue to the intermediate docs contributor guide, you will need more background in Git terminology.

Note: Kubernetes code developers: If you are documenting a new feature for an upcoming Kubernetes release, your process is a bit different. See Document a feature for process guidelines and information about deadlines.

Sign the CNCF CLA

Before you can contribute code or documentation to Kubernetes, you must read the Contributor guide and sign the Contributor License Agreement (CLA). Don’t worry – this doesn’t take long!

Find something to work on

If you see something you want to fix right away, just follow the instructions below. You don’t need to file an issue (although you certainly can).

If you want to start by finding an existing issue to work on, go to https://github.com/kubernetes/website/issues and look for issues with the label good first issue (you can use this shortcut). Read through the comments and make sure there is not an open pull request against the issue and that nobody has left a comment saying they are working on the issue recently (3 days is a good rule). Leave a comment saying that you would like to work on the issue.

Choose which Git branch to use

The most important aspect of submitting pull requests is choosing which branch to base your work on. Use these guidelines to make the decision:

  • Use master for fixing problems in content that is already published, or making improvements to content that already exists.
    • Use a release branch (such as dev-release-1.16 for the release-1.16 release) to document upcoming features or changes for an upcoming release that is not yet published.
  • Use a feature branch that has been agreed upon by SIG Docs to collaborate on big improvements or changes to the existing documentation, including content reorganization or changes to the look and feel of the website.

If you’re still not sure which branch to choose, ask in #sig-docs on Slack or attend a weekly SIG Docs meeting to get clarity.

Submit a pull request

Follow these steps to submit a pull request to improve the Kubernetes documentation.

  1. On the page where you see the issue, click the pencil icon at the top right. A new GitHub page appears, with some help text.
  2. If you have never created a fork of the Kubernetes documentation repository, you are prompted to do so. Create the fork under your GitHub username, rather than another organization you may be a member of. The fork usually has a URL such as https://github.com/<username>/website, unless you already have a repository with a conflicting name.

    The reason you are prompted to create a fork is that you do not have access to push a branch directly to the definitive Kubernetes repository.

  3. The GitHub Markdown editor appears with the source Markdown file loaded. Make your changes. Below the editor, fill in the Propose file change form. The first field is the summary of your commit message and should be no more than 50 characters long. The second field is optional, but can include more detail if appropriate.

    Note: Do not include references to other GitHub issues or pull requests in your commit message. You can add those to the pull request description later.

    Click Propose file change. The change is saved as a commit in a new branch in your fork, which is automatically named something like patch-1.

  4. The next screen summarizes the changes you made, by comparing your new branch (the head fork and compare selection boxes) to the current state of the base fork and base branch (master on the kubernetes/website repository by default). You can change any of the selection boxes, but don’t do that now. Have a look at the difference viewer on the bottom of the screen, and if everything looks right, click Create pull request.

    Note: If you don’t want to create the pull request now, you can do it later, by browsing to the main URL of the Kubernetes website repository or your fork’s repository. The GitHub website will prompt you to create the pull request if it detects that you pushed a new branch to your fork.
  5. The Open a pull request screen appears. The subject of the pull request is the same as the commit summary, but you can change it if needed. The body is populated by your extended commit message (if present) and some template text. Read the template text and fill out the details it asks for, then delete the extra template text. If you add to the description fixes #<000000> or closes #<000000>, where #<000000> is the number of an associated issue, GitHub will automatically close the issue when the PR merges. Leave the Allow edits from maintainers checkbox selected. Click Create pull request.

    Congratulations! Your pull request is available in Pull requests.

    After a few minutes, you can preview the website with your PR’s changes applied. Go to the Conversation tab of your PR and click the Details link for the deploy/netlify test, near the bottom of the page. It opens in the same browser window by default.

    Note: Please limit pull requests to one language per PR. For example, if you need to make an identical change to the same code sample in multiple languages, open a separate PR for each language.
  6. Wait for review. Generally, reviewers are suggested by the k8s-ci-robot. If a reviewer asks you to make changes, you can go to the Files changed tab and click the pencil icon on any files that have been changed by the pull request. When you save the changed file, a new commit is created in the branch being monitored by the pull request. If you are waiting on a reviewer to review the changes, proactively reach out to the reviewer once every 7 days. You can also drop into #sig-docs Slack channel, which is a good place to ask for help regarding PR reviews.

  7. If your change is accepted, a reviewer merges your pull request, and the change is live on the Kubernetes website a few minutes later.

This is only one way to submit a pull request. If you are already a Git and GitHub advanced user, you can use a local GUI or command-line Git client instead of using the GitHub UI. Some basics about using the command-line Git client are discussed in the intermediate docs contribution guide.

Review docs pull requests

People who are new to documentation can still review pull requests. You can learn the code base and build trust with your fellow contributors. English docs are the authoritative source for content. We communicate in English during weekly meetings and in community announcements. Contributors’ English skills vary, so use simple and direct language in your reviews. Effective reviews focus on both small details and a change’s potential impact.

The reviews are not considered “binding”, which means that your review alone won’t cause a pull request to be merged. However, it can still be helpful. Even if you don’t leave any review comments, you can get a sense of pull request conventions and etiquette and get used to the workflow. Familiarize yourself with the content guide and style guide before reviewing so you get an idea of what the content should contain and how it should look.

Best practices

  • Be polite, considerate, and helpful
  • Comment on positive aspects of PRs as well
  • Be empathetic and mindful of how your review may be received
  • Assume good intent and ask clarifying questions
  • Experienced contributors, consider pairing with new contributors whose work requires extensive changes

How to find and review a pull request

  1. Go to https://github.com/kubernetes/website/pulls. You see a list of every open pull request against the Kubernetes website and docs.

  2. By default, the only filter that is applied is open, so you don’t see pull requests that have already been closed or merged. It’s a good idea to apply the cncf-cla: yes filter, and for your first review, it’s a good idea to add size/S or size/XS. The size label is applied automatically based on how many lines of code the PR modifies. You can apply filters using the selection boxes at the top of the page, or use this shortcut for only small PRs. All filters are ANDed together, so you can’t search for both size/XS and size/S in the same query.

  3. Go to the Files changed tab. Look through the changes introduced in the PR, and if applicable, also look at any linked issues. If you see a problem or room for improvement, hover over the line and click the + symbol that appears.

    You can type a comment, and either choose Add single comment or Start a review. Typically, starting a review is better because it allows you to leave multiple comments and notifies the PR owner only when you have completed the review, rather than a separate notification for each comment.

  4. When finished, click Review changes at the top of the page. You can summarize your review, and you can choose to comment, approve, or request changes. New contributors should always choose Comment.

Thanks for reviewing a pull request! When you are new to the project, it’s a good idea to ask for feedback on your pull request reviews. The #sig-docs Slack channel is a great place to do this.

Write a blog post

Anyone can write a blog post and submit it for review. Blog posts should not be commercial in nature and should consist of content that will apply broadly to the Kubernetes community.

To submit a blog post, you can either submit it using the Kubernetes blog submission form, or follow the steps below.

  1. Sign the CLA if you have not yet done so.
  2. Have a look at the Markdown format for existing blog posts in the website repository.
  3. Write out your blog post in a text editor of your choice.
  4. On the same link from step 2, click the Create new file button. Paste your content into the editor. Name the file to match the proposed title of the blog post, but don’t put the date in the file name. The blog reviewers will work with you on the final file name and the date the blog will be published.
  5. When you save the file, GitHub will walk you through the pull request process.
  6. A blog post reviewer will review your submission and work with you on feedback and final details. When the blog post is approved, the blog will be scheduled for publication.

Submit a case study

Case studies highlight how organizations are using Kubernetes to solve real-world problems. They are written in collaboration with the Kubernetes marketing team, which is handled by the CNCFCloud Native Computing Foundation .

Have a look at the source for the existing case studies. Use the Kubernetes case study submission form to submit your proposal.

What's next

When you are comfortable with all of the tasks discussed in this topic and you want to engage with the Kubernetes docs team in deeper ways, read the intermediate docs contribution guide.

Feedback