为 Kubernetes 文档做贡献

Edit This Page

撰写新主题

本页面展示如何为 Kubernetes 文档库创建新主题。

准备开始

创建 Kubernetes 文档仓库的一个分支,如开始贡献中所述。

选择页面类型

当你准备写一个新的主题时,考虑一下最适合你的内容的页面类型:

概念每个概念页面负责解释 Kubernetes 的某方面。例如,概念页面可以描述 Kubernetes Deployment 对象,并解释当部署、扩展和更新时,它作为应用程序所扮演的角色。一般来说,概念页面不包括步骤序列,而是提供任务或教程的链接。一个概念主题的示例,请参见 节点.
任务任务页面展示了如何完成单个任务。这样做的目的是给读者一系列步骤,让他们在阅读时能够真正做到这一点。任务页面可长可短,前提是它始终聚焦在一个区域。在任务页面中,可以将简短的解释与要执行的步骤混合在一起,但如果需要提供冗长的解释,则应在概念主题中进行。相关联的任务和概念主题可以相互链接。一个简短的任务页面的实例,请参见 配置一个使用卷进行存储的 Pod. 一个较长的任务页面的实例,请参见 配置活动性和就绪性探测器
教程教程页面展示了如何实现将几个 Kubernetes 特性联系在一起的目标。教程可能提供一些步骤序列,读者可以在阅读页面时实际执行这些步骤。或者它可以提供相关代码片段的解释。例如,教程可以提供代码示例的演练。教程可以包括对 Kubernetes 几个关联特性的简要解释,但应该链接到相关概念主题,以便深入解释各个特性。

为每个新页面使用模板。每种页面类型都有一个模板可以在编写主题时使用。使用模板有助于确保给定类型主题之间的一致性。

选择标题和文件名

选择一个标题,标题中包含了要通过搜索引擎要查找的关键字。创建一个文件名,使用标题中由连字符分隔的单词。例如,标题为使用 HTTP 代理访问 Kubernetes API 的主题的文件名为 http-proxy-access-api.md。你不需要在文件名中加上 “kubernetes”,因为 “kubernetes” 已经在主题的 URL 中了,例如:

   /docs/tasks/access-kubernetes-api/http-proxy-access-api/

在页面头部添加主题标题

在你的主题中,在页面头部设置一个 title 字段。页面头部是位于页面顶部三条虚线之间的 YAML 块。下面是一个例子:

---
title: 使用 HTTP 代理访问 Kubernetes API
---

选择目录

根据页面类型,将新文件放入其中一个子目录中:

  • /content/en/docs/tasks/
  • /content/en/docs/tutorials/
  • /content/en/docs/concepts/

你可以将文件放在现有的子目录中,也可以创建一个新的子目录。

将主题放在目录中

目录是使用文档源的目录结构动态构建的。/content/en/docs/ 下的顶层目录创建顶层导航,它和子目录在目录中都有条目。

每个子目录都有一个 _index.md 文件,它表示指定子目录内容的主页面。_index.md 文件不需要模板。它可以包含有关子目录中主题的概述内容。

默认情况下,目录中的其他文件按字母顺序排序。这几乎不是最好的顺序。要控制子目录中主题的相对排序,请将页面头部的键 weight: 设置为整数。通常我们使用10的倍数,添加后续主题时权重值递增。例如,权重为 10 的主题将位于权重为 20 的主题之前。

在主题中嵌入代码

如果你想在主题中包含一些代码,可以直接使用标记代码块语法将代码嵌入到文件中。建议用于以下情况(并非详尽列表):

  • 代码显示来自命令的输出,例如 kubectl get deploy mydeployment -o json | jq '.status'
  • 代码不够通用,用户无法验证。例如,你可以嵌入 YAML 文件来创建一个依赖于特定 Flexvolume实现的 Pod。
  • 该代码是一个不完整的示例,因为它的目的是高亮显示大文件的部分内容。例如,在描述自定义 PodSecurityPolicy的方法时,出于某些原因,你可以直接在主题文件中提供一个简短的片段。
  • 由于其他原因,该代码不适合用户验证。例如,当使用 kubectl edit 命令描述如何将新属性添加到资源时,你可以提供一个仅包含要添加的属性的简短示例。

引用来自其他文件的代码

在主题中引用代码的另一种方法是创建一个新的、完整的示例文件(或示例文件组),然后从主题中引用这些示例。当示例是通用的和可重用的,并且你希望读者自己验证时,使用此方法引用示例 YAML 文件。

添加新的独立示例文件(如 YAML 文件)时,将代码放在 <LANG>/examples/ 的某个子目录中,其中 <LANG> 是该主题的语言。在主题文件中使用 codenew 短代码:

{{< codenew file="<RELPATH>/my-example-yaml>" >}}

<RELPATH> 是要引用的文件的路径,相对于 examples 目录。以下 Hugo 短代码引用了位于 /content/en/examples/pods/storage/gce-volume.yaml 的 YAML 文件。

{{< codenew file="pods/storage/gce-volume.yaml" >}}
注意:

要展示上述示例中的原始 Hugo 短代码并避免 Hugo 对其进行解释,请直接在 < 字符之后和 > 字符之前使用 C 样式注释。请查看此页面的代码。

显示如何从配置文件创建 API 对象

如果需要演示如何基于配置文件创建 API 对象,请将配置文件放在 <LANG>/examples 下的某个子目录中。

在主题中展示以下命令:

kubectl create -f https://k8s.io/examples/pods/storage/gce-volume.yaml
注意:

将新的 YAML 文件添加到 <LANG>/examples 目录时,请确保该文件也在 <LANG>/examples_test.go 文件中被引用。当提交拉取请求时,网站的 Travis CI 会自动运行此测试用例,以确保所有示例都通过测试。

有关使用此技术的主题的示例,请参见运行单实例有状态的应用

向主题添加镜像

将镜像文件放入 /images 目录。首选的镜像格式是 SVG。

接下来

反馈

Contribute to Kubernetes docs

Edit This Page

Writing a new topic

This page shows how to create a new topic for the Kubernetes docs.

Before you begin

Create a fork of the Kubernetes documentation repository as described in Start contributing.

Choosing a page type

As you prepare to write a new topic, think about the page type that would fit your content the best:

Concept A concept page explains some aspect of Kubernetes. For example, a concept page might describe the Kubernetes Deployment object and explain the role it plays as an application while it is deployed, scaled, and updated. Typically, concept pages don't include sequences of steps, but instead provide links to tasks or tutorials. For an example of a concept topic, see Nodes.
Task A task page shows how to do a single thing. The idea is to give readers a sequence of steps that they can actually do as they read the page. A task page can be short or long, provided it stays focused on one area. In a task page, it is OK to blend brief explanations with the steps to be performed, but if you need to provide a lengthy explanation, you should do that in a concept topic. Related task and concept topics should link to each other. For an example of a short task page, see Configure a Pod to Use a Volume for Storage. For an example of a longer task page, see Configure Liveness and Readiness Probes
Tutorial A tutorial page shows how to accomplish a goal that ties together several Kubernetes features. A tutorial might provide several sequences of steps that readers can actually do as they read the page. Or it might provide explanations of related pieces of code. For example, a tutorial could provide a walkthrough of a code sample. A tutorial can include brief explanations of the Kubernetes features that are being tied together, but should link to related concept topics for deep explanations of individual features.

Use a template for each new page. Each page type has a template that you can use as you write your topic. Using templates helps ensure consistency among topics of a given type.

Choosing a title and filename

Choose a title that has the keywords you want search engines to find. Create a filename that uses the words in your title separated by hyphens. For example, the topic with title Using an HTTP Proxy to Access the Kubernetes API has filename http-proxy-access-api.md. You don’t need to put “kubernetes” in the filename, because “kubernetes” is already in the URL for the topic, for example:

   http://kubernetes.io/docs/tasks/access-kubernetes-api/http-proxy-access-api/

Adding the topic title to the front matter

In your topic, put a title field in the front matter. The front matter is the YAML block that is between the triple-dashed lines at the top of the page. Here’s an example:

---
title: Using an HTTP Proxy to Access the Kubernetes API
---

Choosing a directory

Depending on your page type, put your new file in a subdirectory of one of these:

You can put your file in an existing subdirectory, or you can create a new subdirectory.

Placing your topic in the table of contents

The table of contents is built dynamically using the directory structure of the documentation source. The top-level directories under /content/en/docs/ create top-level navigation, and subdirectories each have entries in the table of contents.

Each subdirectory has a file _index.md, which represents the “home” page for a given subdirectory’s content. The _index.md does not need a template. It can contain overview content about the topics in the subdirectory.

Other files in a directory are sorted alphabetically by default. This is almost never the best order. To control the relative sorting of topics in a subdirectory, set the weight: front-matter key to an integer. Typically, we use multiples of 10, to account for adding topics later. For instance, a topic with weight 10 will come before one with weight 20.

Embedding code in your topic

If you want to include some code in your topic, you can embed the code in your file directly using the markdown code block syntax. This is recommended for the following cases (not an exhaustive list):

Including code from another file

Another way to include code in your topic is to create a new, complete sample file (or group of sample files) and then reference the sample from your topic. Use this method to include sample YAML files when the sample is generic and reusable, and you want the reader to try it out themselves.

When adding a new standalone sample file, such as a YAML file, place the code in one of the <LANG>/examples/ subdirectories where <LANG> is the language for the topic. In your topic file, use the codenew shortcode:

{{< codenew file="<RELPATH>/my-example-yaml>" >}}

where <RELPATH> is the path to the file to include, relative to the examples directory. The following Hugo shortcode references a YAML file located at /content/en/examples/pods/storage/gce-volume.yaml.

{{< codenew file="pods/storage/gce-volume.yaml" >}}
Note: To show raw Hugo shortcodes as in the above example and prevent Hugo from interpreting them, use C-style comments directly after the < and before the > characters. View the code for this page for an example.

Showing how to create an API object from a configuration file

If you need to demonstrate how to create an API object based on a configuration file, place the configuration file in one of the subdirectories under <LANG>/examples.

In your topic, show this command:

kubectl create -f https://k8s.io/examples/pods/storage/gce-volume.yaml
Note: When adding new YAML files to the <LANG>/examples directory, make sure the file is also included into the <LANG>/examples_test.go file. The Travis CI for the Website automatically runs this test case when PRs are submitted to ensure all examples pass the tests.

For an example of a topic that uses this technique, see Running a Single-Instance Stateful Application.

Adding images to a topic

Put image files in the /images directory. The preferred image format is SVG.

What's next