配置资源不足时的处理方式

本页介绍如何使用 kubelet 配置资源不足时的处理方式。

当可用计算资源较少时,kubelet需要保证节点稳定性。 这在处理如内存和硬盘之类的不可压缩资源时尤为重要。 如果任意一种资源耗尽,节点将会变得不稳定。

驱逐信号

kubelet 支持按照以下表格中描述的信号触发驱逐决定。 每个信号的值在 description 列描述,基于 kubelet 摘要 API。

驱逐信号描述
memory.availablememory.available := node.status.capacity[memory] - node.stats.memory.workingSet
nodefs.availablenodefs.available := node.stats.fs.available
nodefs.inodesFreenodefs.inodesFree := node.stats.fs.inodesFree
imagefs.availableimagefs.available := node.stats.runtime.imagefs.available
imagefs.inodesFreeimagefs.inodesFree := node.stats.runtime.imagefs.inodesFree

上面的每个信号都支持字面值或百分比的值。基于百分比的值的计算与每个信号对应的总容量相关。

memory.available 的值从 cgroupfs 获取,而不是通过类似 free -m 的工具。 这很重要,因为 free -m 不能在容器中工作,并且如果用户使用了 节点可分配资源 特性,资源不足的判定将同时在本地 cgroup 层次结构的终端用户 Pod 部分和根节点做出。 这个脚本 复现了与 kubelet 计算 memory.available 相同的步骤。 kubeletinactive_file(意即活动 LRU 列表上基于文件后端的内存字节数)从计算中排除, 因为它假设内存在出现压力时将被回收。

kubelet 只支持两种文件系统分区。

  1. nodefs 文件系统,kubelet 将其用于卷和守护程序日志等。
  2. imagefs 文件系统,容器运行时用于保存镜像和容器可写层。

imagefs 可选。kubelet 使用 cAdvisor 自动发现这些文件系统。 kubelet 不关心其它文件系统。当前不支持配置任何其它类型。 例如,在专用 filesytem 中存储卷和日志是 不可以 的。

在将来的发布中,kubelet将废除当前存在的 垃圾回收 机制,这种机制目前支持将驱逐操作作为对磁盘压力的响应。

驱逐阈值

kubelet支持指定驱逐阈值,用于触发 kubelet 回收资源。

每个阈值形式如下:

[eviction-signal][operator][quantity]

  • 合法的 eviction-signal 标志如上所示。
  • operator 是所需的关系运算符,例如 <
  • quantity 是驱逐阈值值标志,例如 1Gi。合法的标志必须匹配 Kubernetes 使用的数量表示。 驱逐阈值也可以使用 % 标记表示百分比。

举例说明,如果一个节点有 10Gi 内存,希望在可用内存下降到 1Gi 以下时引起驱逐操作, 则驱逐阈值可以使用下面任意一种方式指定(但不是两者同时)。

  • memory.available<10%
  • memory.available<1Gi

软驱逐阈值

软驱逐阈值使用一对由驱逐阈值和管理员必须指定的宽限期组成的配置对。在超过宽限期前,kubelet不会采取任何动作回收和驱逐信号关联的资源。如果没有提供宽限期,kubelet启动时将报错。

此外,如果达到了软驱逐阈值,操作员可以指定从节点驱逐 pod 时,在宽限期内允许结束的 pod 的最大数量。 如果指定了 pod.Spec.TerminationGracePeriodSeconds 值, kubelet 将使用它和宽限期二者中较小的一个。 如果没有指定,kubelet将立即终止 pod,而不会优雅结束它们。

软驱逐阈值的配置支持下列标记:

  • eviction-soft 描述了驱逐阈值的集合(例如 memory.available<1.5Gi),如果在宽限期之外满足条件将触发 pod 驱逐。
  • eviction-soft-grace-period 描述了驱逐宽限期的集合(例如 memory.available=1m30s),对应于在驱逐 pod 前软驱逐阈值应该被控制的时长。
  • eviction-max-pod-grace-period 描述了当满足软驱逐阈值并终止 pod 时允许的最大宽限期值(秒数)。

硬驱逐阈值

硬驱逐阈值没有宽限期,一旦察觉,kubelet将立即采取行动回收关联的短缺资源。 如果满足硬驱逐阈值,kubelet将立即结束 pod 而不是优雅终止。

硬驱逐阈值的配置支持下列标记:

  • eviction-hard 描述了驱逐阈值的集合(例如 memory.available<1Gi),如果满足条件将触发 pod 驱逐。

kubelet 有如下所示的默认硬驱逐阈值:

  • memory.available<100Mi
  • nodefs.available<10%
  • nodefs.inodesFree<5%
  • imagefs.available<15%

驱逐监控时间间隔

kubelet 根据其配置的整理时间间隔计算驱逐阈值。

  • housekeeping-interval 是容器管理时间间隔。

节点状态

kubelet 会将一个或多个驱逐信号映射到对应的节点状态。

如果满足硬驱逐阈值,或者满足独立于其关联宽限期的软驱逐阈值时,kubelet将报告节点处于压力下的状态。

下列节点状态根据相应的驱逐信号定义。

节点状态驱逐信号描述
MemoryPressurememory.available节点上可用内存量达到逐出阈值
DiskPressurenodefs.available, nodefs.inodesFree, imagefs.available, 或 imagefs.inodesFree节点或者节点的根文件系统或镜像文件系统上可用磁盘空间和 i 节点个数达到逐出阈值

kubelet 将以 --node-status-update-frequency 指定的频率连续报告节点状态更新,其默认值为 10s

节点状态振荡

如果节点在软驱逐阈值的上下振荡,但没有超过关联的宽限期时,将引起对应节点的状态持续在 true 和 false 间跳变,并导致不好的调度结果。

为了防止这种振荡,可以定义下面的标志,用于控制 kubelet 从压力状态中退出之前必须等待的时间。

  • eviction-pressure-transition-periodkubelet 从压力状态中退出之前必须等待的时长。

kubelet 将确保在设定的时间段内没有发现和指定压力条件相对应的驱逐阈值被满足时,才会将状态变回 false

回收节点层级资源

如果满足驱逐阈值并超过了宽限期,kubelet将启动回收压力资源的过程,直到它发现低于设定阈值的信号为止。

kubelet 将尝试在驱逐终端用户 pod 前回收节点层级资源。 发现磁盘压力时,如果节点针对容器运行时配置有独占的 imagefskubelet回收节点层级资源的方式将会不同。

使用 imagefs

如果 nodefs 文件系统满足驱逐阈值,kubelet通过驱逐 pod 及其容器来释放磁盘空间。

如果 imagefs 文件系统满足驱逐阈值,kubelet通过删除所有未使用的镜像来释放磁盘空间。

未使用 imagefs

如果 nodefs 满足驱逐阈值,kubelet将以下面的顺序释放磁盘空间:

  1. 删除停止运行的 pod/container
  2. 删除全部没有使用的镜像

驱逐最终用户的 pod

如果 kubelet 在节点上无法回收足够的资源,kubelet将开始驱逐 pod。

kubelet 首先根据他们对短缺资源的使用是否超过请求来排除 pod 的驱逐行为, 然后通过优先级, 然后通过相对于 pod 的调度请求消耗急需的计算资源。

kubelet 按以下顺序对要驱逐的 pod 排名:

  • BestEffortBurstable,其对短缺资源的使用超过了其请求,此类 pod 按优先级排序,然后使用高于请求。
  • Guaranteed pod 和 Burstable pod,其使用率低于请求,最后被驱逐。 Guaranteed Pod 只有为所有的容器指定了要求和限制并且它们相等时才能得到保证。 由于另一个 Pod 的资源消耗,这些 Pod 保证永远不会被驱逐。 如果系统守护进程(例如 kubeletdocker、和 journald)消耗的资源多于通过 system-reservedkube-reserved 分配保留的资源,并且该节点只有 GuaranteedBurstable Pod 使用少于剩余的请求,然后节点必须选择驱逐这样的 Pod 以保持节点的稳定性并限制意外消耗对其他 pod 的影响。 在这种情况下,它将首先驱逐优先级最低的 pod。

必要时,kubelet会在遇到 DiskPressure 时逐个驱逐 Pod 来回收磁盘空间。 如果 kubelet 响应 inode 短缺,它会首先驱逐服务质量最低的 Pod 来回收 inodes。 如果 kubelet 响应缺少可用磁盘,它会将 Pod 排在服务质量范围内,该服务会消耗大量的磁盘并首先结束这些磁盘。

使用 imagefs

如果是 nodefs 触发驱逐,kubelet将按 nodefs 用量 - 本地卷 + pod 的所有容器日志的总和对其排序。

如果是 imagefs 触发驱逐,kubelet将按 pod 所有可写层的用量对其进行排序。

未使用 imagefs

如果是 nodefs 触发驱逐,kubelet会根据磁盘的总使用情况对 pod 进行排序 - 本地卷 + 所有容器的日志及其可写层。

最小驱逐回收

在某些场景,驱逐 pod 会导致回收少量资源。这将导致 kubelet 反复碰到驱逐阈值。除此之外,对如 disk 这类资源的驱逐时比较耗时的。

为了减少这类问题,kubelet可以为每个资源配置一个 minimum-reclaim。 当 kubelet 发现资源压力时,kubelet将尝试至少回收驱逐阈值之下 minimum-reclaim 数量的资源。

例如使用下面的配置:

--eviction-hard=memory.available<500Mi,nodefs.available<1Gi,imagefs.available<100Gi
--eviction-minimum-reclaim="memory.available=0Mi,nodefs.available=500Mi,imagefs.available=2Gi"`

如果 memory.available 驱逐阈值被触发,kubelet 将保证 memory.available 至少为 500Mi。 对于 nodefs.availablekubelet 将保证 nodefs.available 至少为 1.5Gi。 对于 imagefs.availablekubelet 将保证 imagefs.available 至少为 102Gi, 直到不再有相关资源报告压力为止。

所有资源的默认 eviction-minimum-reclaim 值为 0

调度器

当资源处于压力之下时,节点将报告状态。调度器将那种状态视为一种信号,阻止更多 pod 调度到这个节点上。

节点状态调度器行为
MemoryPressure新的 BestEffort Pod 不会被调度到该节点
DiskPressure没有新的 Pod 会被调度到该节点

节点 OOM 行为

如果节点在 kubelet 回收内存之前经历了系统 OOM(内存不足)事件,它将基于 oom-killer 做出响应。

kubelet 基于 pod 的 service 质量为每个容器设置一个 oom_score_adj 值。

Service 质量oom_score_adj
Guaranteed-998
BestEffort1000
Burstablemin(max(2, 1000 - (1000 * memoryRequestBytes) / machineMemoryCapacityBytes), 999)

如果 kubelet 在节点经历系统 OOM 之前无法回收内存,oom_killer 将基于它在节点上 使用的内存百分比算出一个 oom_score,并加上 oom_score_adj 得到容器的有效 oom_score,然后结束得分最高的容器。

预期的行为应该是拥有最低服务质量并消耗和调度请求相关内存量最多的容器第一个被结束,以回收内存。

和 pod 驱逐不同,如果一个 Pod 的容器是被 OOM 结束的,基于其 RestartPolicy, 它可能会被 kubelet 重新启动。

最佳实践

以下部分描述了资源外处理的最佳实践。

可调度资源和驱逐策略

考虑以下场景:

  • 节点内存容量:10Gi
  • 操作员希望为系统守护进程保留 10% 内存容量(内核、kubelet等)。
  • 操作员希望在内存用量达到 95% 时驱逐 pod,以减少对系统的冲击并防止系统 OOM 的发生。

为了促成这个场景,kubelet将像下面这样启动:

--eviction-hard=memory.available<500Mi
--system-reserved=memory=1.5Gi

这个配置的暗示是理解系统保留应该包含被驱逐阈值覆盖的内存数量。

要达到这个容量,要么某些 pod 使用了超过它们请求的资源,要么系统使用的内存超过 1.5Gi - 500Mi = 1Gi

这个配置将保证在 pod 使用量都不超过它们配置的请求值时,如果可能立即引起内存压力并触发驱逐时,调度器不会将 pod 放到这个节点上。

DaemonSet

我们永远都不希望 kubelet 驱逐一个从 DaemonSet 派生的 Pod,因为这个 Pod 将立即被重建并调度回相同的节点。

目前,kubelet没有办法区分一个 Pod 是由 DaemonSet 还是其他对象创建。 如果/当这个信息可用时,kubelet 可能会预先将这些 pod 从提供给驱逐策略的候选集合中过滤掉。

总之,强烈推荐 DaemonSet 不要创建 BestEffort 的 Pod,防止其被识别为驱逐的候选 Pod。 相反,理想情况下 DaemonSet 应该启动 Guaranteed 的 pod。

现有的回收磁盘特性标签已被弃用

kubelet 已经按需求清空了磁盘空间以保证节点稳定性。

当磁盘驱逐成熟时,下面的 kubelet 标志将被标记为废弃的,以简化支持驱逐的配置。

现有标签新标签
--image-gc-high-threshold--eviction-hard or eviction-soft
--image-gc-low-threshold--eviction-minimum-reclaim
--maximum-dead-containersdeprecated
--maximum-dead-containers-per-containerdeprecated
--minimum-container-ttl-durationdeprecated
--low-diskspace-threshold-mb--eviction-hard or eviction-soft
--outofdisk-transition-frequency--eviction-pressure-transition-period

已知问题

以下部分描述了与资源外处理有关的已知问题。

kubelet 可能无法立即发现内存压力

kubelet当前通过以固定的时间间隔轮询 cAdvisor 来收集内存使用数据。如果内存使用在那个时间窗口内迅速增长,kubelet可能不能足够快的发现 MemoryPressureOOMKiller将不会被调用。我们准备在将来的发行版本中通过集成 memcg 通知 API 来减小这种延迟。当超过阈值时,内核将立即告诉我们。

如果您想处理可察觉的超量使用而不要求极端精准,可以设置驱逐阈值为大约 75% 容量作为这个问题的变通手段。这将增强这个特性的能力,防止系统 OOM,并提升负载卸载能力,以再次平衡集群状态。

kubelet 可能会驱逐超过需求数量的 pod

由于状态采集的时间差,驱逐操作可能驱逐比所需的更多的 pod。将来可通过添加从根容器获取所需状态的能力 https://github.com/google/cadvisor/issues/1247 来减缓这种状况。

最后修改 September 08, 2020 at 8:50 AM PST: Add eviction policy page (c24b2a12b)

Tasks

Step-by-step instructions for performing operations with Kubernetes.

Edit This Page

Configure Out Of Resource Handling

This page explains how to configure out of resource handling with kubelet.

The kubelet needs to preserve node stability when available compute resources are low. This is especially important when dealing with incompressible compute resources, such as memory or disk space. If such resources are exhausted, nodes become unstable.

Eviction Policy

The kubelet can proactively monitor for and prevent total starvation of a compute resource. In those cases, the kubelet can reclaim the starved resource by proactively failing one or more Pods. When the kubelet fails a Pod, it terminates all of its containers and transitions its PodPhase to Failed.

Eviction Signals

The kubelet supports eviction decisions based on the signals described in the following table. The value of each signal is described in the Description column, which is based on the kubelet summary API.

Eviction Signal Description
memory.available memory.available := node.status.capacity[memory] - node.stats.memory.workingSet
nodefs.available nodefs.available := node.stats.fs.available
nodefs.inodesFree nodefs.inodesFree := node.stats.fs.inodesFree
imagefs.available imagefs.available := node.stats.runtime.imagefs.available
imagefs.inodesFree imagefs.inodesFree := node.stats.runtime.imagefs.inodesFree

Each of the above signals supports either a literal or percentage based value. The percentage based value is calculated relative to the total capacity associated with each signal.

The value for memory.available is derived from the cgroupfs instead of tools like free -m. This is important because free -m does not work in a container, and if users use the node allocatable feature, out of resource decisions are made local to the end user Pod part of the cgroup hierarchy as well as the root node. This script reproduces the same set of steps that the kubelet performs to calculate memory.available. The kubelet excludes inactive_file (i.e. # of bytes of file-backed memory on inactive LRU list) from its calculation as it assumes that memory is reclaimable under pressure.

kubelet supports only two filesystem partitions.

  1. The nodefs filesystem that kubelet uses for volumes, daemon logs, etc.
  2. The imagefs filesystem that container runtimes uses for storing images and container writable layers.

imagefs is optional. kubelet auto-discovers these filesystems using cAdvisor. kubelet does not care about any other filesystems. Any other types of configurations are not currently supported by the kubelet. For example, it is not OK to store volumes and logs in a dedicated filesystem.

In future releases, the kubelet will deprecate the existing garbage collection support in favor of eviction in response to disk pressure.

Eviction Thresholds

The kubelet supports the ability to specify eviction thresholds that trigger the kubelet to reclaim resources.

Each threshold has the following form:

[eviction-signal][operator][quantity]

where:

For example, if a node has 10Gi of total memory and you want trigger eviction if the available memory falls below 1Gi, you can define the eviction threshold as either memory.available<10% or memory.available<1Gi. You cannot use both.

Soft Eviction Thresholds

A soft eviction threshold pairs an eviction threshold with a required administrator-specified grace period. No action is taken by the kubelet to reclaim resources associated with the eviction signal until that grace period has been exceeded. If no grace period is provided, the kubelet returns an error on startup.

In addition, if a soft eviction threshold has been met, an operator can specify a maximum allowed Pod termination grace period to use when evicting pods from the node. If specified, the kubelet uses the lesser value among the pod.Spec.TerminationGracePeriodSeconds and the max allowed grace period. If not specified, the kubelet kills Pods immediately with no graceful termination.

To configure soft eviction thresholds, the following flags are supported:

Hard Eviction Thresholds

A hard eviction threshold has no grace period, and if observed, the kubelet will take immediate action to reclaim the associated starved resource. If a hard eviction threshold is met, the kubelet kills the Pod immediately with no graceful termination.

To configure hard eviction thresholds, the following flag is supported:

The kubelet has the following default hard eviction threshold:

Eviction Monitoring Interval

The kubelet evaluates eviction thresholds per its configured housekeeping interval.

Node Conditions

The kubelet maps one or more eviction signals to a corresponding node condition.

If a hard eviction threshold has been met, or a soft eviction threshold has been met independent of its associated grace period, the kubelet reports a condition that reflects the node is under pressure.

The following node conditions are defined that correspond to the specified eviction signal.

Node Condition Eviction Signal Description
MemoryPressure memory.available Available memory on the node has satisfied an eviction threshold
DiskPressure nodefs.available, nodefs.inodesFree, imagefs.available, or imagefs.inodesFree Available disk space and inodes on either the node’s root filesytem or image filesystem has satisfied an eviction threshold

The kubelet continues to report node status updates at the frequency specified by --node-status-update-frequency which defaults to 10s.

Oscillation of node conditions

If a node is oscillating above and below a soft eviction threshold, but not exceeding its associated grace period, it would cause the corresponding node condition to constantly oscillate between true and false, and could cause poor scheduling decisions as a consequence.

To protect against this oscillation, the following flag is defined to control how long the kubelet must wait before transitioning out of a pressure condition.

The kubelet would ensure that it has not observed an eviction threshold being met for the specified pressure condition for the period specified before toggling the condition back to false.

Reclaiming node level resources

If an eviction threshold has been met and the grace period has passed, the kubelet initiates the process of reclaiming the pressured resource until it has observed the signal has gone below its defined threshold.

The kubelet attempts to reclaim node level resources prior to evicting end-user Pods. If disk pressure is observed, the kubelet reclaims node level resources differently if the machine has a dedicated imagefs configured for the container runtime.

With imagefs

If nodefs filesystem has met eviction thresholds, kubelet frees up disk space by deleting the dead Pods and their containers.

If imagefs filesystem has met eviction thresholds, kubelet frees up disk space by deleting all unused images.

Without imagefs

If nodefs filesystem has met eviction thresholds, kubelet frees up disk space in the following order:

  1. Delete dead Pods and their containers
  2. Delete all unused images

Evicting end-user Pods

If the kubelet is unable to reclaim sufficient resource on the node, kubelet begins evicting Pods.

The kubelet ranks Pods for eviction first by their quality of service, and then by the consumption of the starved compute resource relative to the Pods’ scheduling requests.

As a result, kubectl ranks and evicts Pods in the following order:

If necessary, kubelet evicts Pods one at a time to reclaim disk when DiskPressure is encountered. If the kubelet is responding to inode starvation, it reclaims inodes by evicting Pods with the lowest quality of service first. If the kubelet is responding to lack of available disk, it ranks Pods within a quality of service that consumes the largest amount of disk and kill those first.

With imagefs

If nodefs is triggering evictions, kubelet sorts Pods based on the usage on nodefs

If imagefs is triggering evictions, kubelet sorts Pods based on the writable layer usage of all its containers.

Without imagefs

If nodefs is triggering evictions, kubelet sorts Pods based on their total disk usage

Minimum eviction reclaim

In certain scenarios, eviction of Pods could result in reclamation of small amount of resources. This can result in kubelet hitting eviction thresholds in repeated successions. In addition to that, eviction of resources like disk, is time consuming.

To mitigate these issues, kubelet can have a per-resource minimum-reclaim. Whenever kubelet observes resource pressure, kubelet attempts to reclaim at least minimum-reclaim amount of resource below the configured eviction threshold.

For example, with the following configuration:

--eviction-hard=memory.available<500Mi,nodefs.available<1Gi,imagefs.available<100Gi
--eviction-minimum-reclaim="memory.available=0Mi,nodefs.available=500Mi,imagefs.available=2Gi"`

If an eviction threshold is triggered for memory.available, the kubelet works to ensure that memory.available is at least 500Mi. For nodefs.available, the kubelet works to ensure that nodefs.available is at least 1.5Gi, and for imagefs.available it works to ensure that imagefs.available is at least 102Gi before no longer reporting pressure on their associated resources.

The default eviction-minimum-reclaim is 0 for all resources.

Scheduler

The node reports a condition when a compute resource is under pressure. The scheduler views that condition as a signal to dissuade placing additional pods on the node.

Node Condition Scheduler Behavior
MemoryPressure No new BestEffort Pods are scheduled to the node.
DiskPressure No new Pods are scheduled to the node.

Node OOM Behavior

If the node experiences a system OOM (out of memory) event prior to the kubelet is able to reclaim memory, the node depends on the oom_killer to respond.

The kubelet sets a oom_score_adj value for each container based on the quality of service for the Pod.

Quality of Service oom_score_adj
Guaranteed -998
BestEffort 1000
Burstable min(max(2, 1000 - (1000 * memoryRequestBytes) / machineMemoryCapacityBytes), 999)

If the kubelet is unable to reclaim memory prior to a node experiencing system OOM, the oom_killer calculates an oom_score based on the percentage of memory it’s using on the node, and then add the oom_score_adj to get an effective oom_score for the container, and then kills the container with the highest score.

The intended behavior should be that containers with the lowest quality of service that are consuming the largest amount of memory relative to the scheduling request should be killed first in order to reclaim memory.

Unlike Pod eviction, if a Pod container is OOM killed, it may be restarted by the kubelet based on its RestartPolicy.

Best Practices

The following sections describe best practices for out of resource handling.

Schedulable resources and eviction policies

Consider the following scenario:

To facilitate this scenario, the kubelet would be launched as follows:

--eviction-hard=memory.available<500Mi
--system-reserved=memory=1.5Gi

Implicit in this configuration is the understanding that “System reserved” should include the amount of memory covered by the eviction threshold.

To reach that capacity, either some Pod is using more than its request, or the system is using more than 500Mi.

This configuration ensures that the scheduler does not place Pods on a node that immediately induce memory pressure and trigger eviction assuming those Pods use less than their configured request.

DaemonSet

It is never desired for kubelet to evict a DaemonSet Pod, since the Pod is immediately recreated and rescheduled back to the same node.

At the moment, the kubelet has no ability to distinguish a Pod created from DaemonSet versus any other object. If/when that information is available, the kubelet could pro-actively filter those Pods from the candidate set of Pods provided to the eviction strategy.

In general, it is strongly recommended that DaemonSet not create BestEffort Pods to avoid being identified as a candidate Pod for eviction. Instead DaemonSet should ideally launch Guaranteed Pods.

Deprecation of existing feature flags to reclaim disk

kubelet has been freeing up disk space on demand to keep the node stable.

As disk based eviction matures, the following kubelet flags are marked for deprecation in favor of the simpler configuration supported around eviction.

Existing Flag New Flag
--image-gc-high-threshold --eviction-hard or eviction-soft
--image-gc-low-threshold --eviction-minimum-reclaim
--maximum-dead-containers deprecated
--maximum-dead-containers-per-container deprecated
--minimum-container-ttl-duration deprecated
--low-diskspace-threshold-mb --eviction-hard or eviction-soft
--outofdisk-transition-frequency --eviction-pressure-transition-period

Known issues

The following sections describe known issues related to out of resource handling.

kubelet may not observe memory pressure right away

The kubelet currently polls cAdvisor to collect memory usage stats at a regular interval. If memory usage increases within that window rapidly, the kubelet may not observe MemoryPressure fast enough, and the OOMKiller will still be invoked. We intend to integrate with the memcg notification API in a future release to reduce this latency, and instead have the kernel tell us when a threshold has been crossed immediately.

If you are not trying to achieve extreme utilization, but a sensible measure of overcommit, a viable workaround for this issue is to set eviction thresholds at approximately 75% capacity. This increases the ability of this feature to prevent system OOMs, and promote eviction of workloads so cluster state can rebalance.

kubelet may evict more Pods than needed

The Pod eviction may evict more Pods than needed due to stats collection timing gap. This can be mitigated by adding the ability to get root container stats on an on-demand basis (https://github.com/google/cadvisor/issues/1247) in the future.

How kubelet ranks Pods for eviction in response to inode exhaustion

At this time, it is not possible to know how many inodes were consumed by a particular container. If the kubelet observes inode exhaustion, it evicts Pods by ranking them by quality of service. The following issue has been opened in cadvisor to track per container inode consumption (https://github.com/google/cadvisor/issues/1422) which would allow us to rank Pods by inode consumption. For example, this would let us identify a container that created large numbers of 0 byte files, and evict that Pod over others.

Analytics

Create an Issue Edit this Page