Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 演练

Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 可以根据 CPU 利用率自动扩缩 ReplicationController、Deployment 或者 ReplicaSet 中的 Pod 数量 (也可以基于其他应用程序提供的度量指标,目前这一功能处于 beta 版本)。

本文将引领你了解如何为 php-apache 服务器配置和使用 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler。 更多 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 的信息请参阅 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 用户指南

准备开始

本文示例需要一个运行中的 Kubernetes 集群以及 kubectl,集群中还要部署 1.2 或更高 版本的 Metrics 服务器。 Metrics 服务器可以通过资源度量值 API 对外提供度量数据,Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 正是根据此 API 来获取度量数据。 部署方法请参考 metrics-server 。 如果你正在使用 GCE,按照 GCE 指南中的入门说明 操作,metrics-server 会默认启动。

如果需要为 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 指定多种资源度量指标,你的 Kubernetes 集群以及 kubectl 至少需要达到 1.6 版本。 此外,如果要使用自定义度量指标,你的 Kubernetes 集群还必须能够与提供这些自定义指标 的 API 服务器通信。 最后,如果要使用与 Kubernetes 对象无关的度量指标,则 Kubernetes 集群版本至少需要 达到 1.10 版本,同样,需要保证集群能够与提供这些外部指标的 API 服务器通信。 更多详细信息,请参阅Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 用户指南

运行 php-apache 服务器并暴露服务

为了演示 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler,我们将使用一个基于 php-apache 镜像的定制 Docker 镜像。 Dockerfile 内容如下:

FROM php:5-apache
COPY index.php /var/www/html/index.php
RUN chmod a+rx index.php

该文件定义了一个 index.php 页面来执行一些 CPU 密集型计算:

<?php
  $x = 0.0001;
  for ($i = 0; $i <= 1000000; $i++) {
    $x += sqrt($x);
  }
  echo "OK!";
?>

首先,我们先启动一个 Deployment 来运行这个镜像并暴露一个服务:

kubectl run php-apache --image=k8s.gcr.io/hpa-example --requests=cpu=200m --expose --port=80
service/php-apache created
deployment.apps/php-apache created

创建 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler

现在,php-apache 服务器已经运行,我们将通过 kubectl autoscale 命令创建 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler。 以下命令将创建一个 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 用于控制我们上一步骤中创建的 Deployment,使 Pod 的副本数量维持在 1 到 10 之间。 大致来说,HPA 将通过增加或者减少 Pod 副本的数量(通过 Deployment)以保持所有 Pod 的平均 CPU 利用率在 50% 以内(由于每个 Pod 通过 kubectl run 请求 200 毫核的 CPU) ,这意味着平均 CPU 利用率为 100 毫核)。 相关算法的详情请参阅文档

kubectl autoscale deployment php-apache --cpu-percent=50 --min=1 --max=10
horizontalpodautoscaler.autoscaling/php-apache autoscaled

我们可以通过以下命令查看 Autoscaler 的状态:

kubectl get hpa
NAME         REFERENCE                     TARGET    MINPODS   MAXPODS   REPLICAS   AGE
php-apache   Deployment/php-apache/scale   0% / 50%  1         10        1          18s

请注意当前的 CPU 利用率是 0%,这是由于我们尚未发送任何请求到服务器 (CURRENT 列显示了相应 Deployment 所控制的所有 Pod 的平均 CPU 利用率)。

增加负载

现在,我们将看到 Autoscaler 如何对增加负载作出反应。 我们将启动一个容器,并通过一个循环向 php-apache 服务器发送无限的查询请求(请在另一个终端中运行以下命令):

kubectl run -i --tty load-generator --image=busybox /bin/sh

Hit enter for command prompt

while true; do wget -q -O- http://php-apache; done

一分钟时间左右之后,通过以下命令,我们可以看到 CPU 负载升高了:

kubectl get hpa
NAME         REFERENCE                     TARGET      CURRENT   MINPODS   MAXPODS   REPLICAS   AGE
php-apache   Deployment/php-apache/scale   305% / 50%  305%      1         10        1          3m

这时,由于请求增多,CPU 利用率已经升至 305%。 可以看到,Deployment 的副本数量已经增长到了 7:

kubectl get deployment php-apache
NAME         DESIRED   CURRENT   UP-TO-DATE   AVAILABLE   AGE
php-apache   7         7         7            7           19m
说明: 有时最终副本的数量可能需要几分钟才能稳定下来。由于环境的差异,不同环境中最终的副本数量可能与本示例中的数量不同。

停止负载

我们将通过停止负载来结束我们的示例。

在我们创建 busybox 容器的终端中,输入<Ctrl> + C 来终止负载的产生。

然后我们可以再次查看负载状态(等待几分钟时间):

kubectl get hpa
NAME         REFERENCE                     TARGET       MINPODS   MAXPODS   REPLICAS   AGE
php-apache   Deployment/php-apache/scale   0% / 50%     1         10        1          11m
kubectl get deployment php-apache
NAME         DESIRED   CURRENT   UP-TO-DATE   AVAILABLE   AGE
php-apache   1         1         1            1           27m

这时,CPU 利用率已经降到 0,所以 HPA 将自动缩减副本数量至 1。

说明: 自动扩缩完成副本数量的改变可能需要几分钟的时间。

基于多项度量指标和自定义度量指标自动扩缩

利用 autoscaling/v2beta2 API 版本,你可以在自动扩缩 php-apache 这个 Deployment 时使用其他度量指标。

首先,将 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 的 YAML 文件改为 autoscaling/v2beta2 格式:

kubectl get hpa.v2beta2.autoscaling -o yaml > /tmp/hpa-v2.yaml

在编辑器中打开 /tmp/hpa-v2.yaml

apiVersion: autoscaling/v2beta2
kind: HorizontalPodAutoscaler
metadata:
  name: php-apache
spec:
  scaleTargetRef:
    apiVersion: apps/v1
    kind: Deployment
    name: php-apache
  minReplicas: 1
  maxReplicas: 10
  metrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
      target:
        type: Utilization
        averageUtilization: 50
status:
  observedGeneration: 1
  lastScaleTime: <some-time>
  currentReplicas: 1
  desiredReplicas: 1
  currentMetrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
      current:
        averageUtilization: 0
        averageValue: 0

需要注意的是,targetCPUUtilizationPercentage 字段已经被名为 metrics 的数组所取代。 CPU 利用率这个度量指标是一个 resource metric(资源度量指标),因为它表示容器上指定资源的百分比。 除 CPU 外,你还可以指定其他资源度量指标。默认情况下,目前唯一支持的其他资源度量指标为内存。 只要 metrics.k8s.io API 存在,这些资源度量指标就是可用的,并且他们不会在不同的 Kubernetes 集群中改变名称。

你还可以指定资源度量指标使用绝对数值,而不是百分比,你需要将 target 类型 AverageUtilization 替换成 AverageValue,同时 将 target.averageUtilization 替换成 target.averageValue 并设定相应的值。

还有两种其他类型的度量指标,他们被认为是 custom metrics(自定义度量指标): 即 pod 度量指标和 object 度量指标。 这些度量指标可能具有特定于集群的名称,并且需要更高级的集群监控设置。

第一种可选的度量指标类型是 pod 度量指标。这些指标从某一方面描述了Pod,在不同 Pod 之间进行平均,并通过与一个目标值比对来确定副本的数量。 它们的工作方式与资源度量指标非常相像,差别是它们仅支持 target 类型为 AverageValue

pod 度量指标通过如下代码块定义:

type: Pods
pods:
  metric:
    name: packets-per-second
  target:
    type: AverageValue
    averageValue: 1k

第二种可选的度量指标类型是对象(object)度量指标。相对于描述 Pod,这些度量指标用于描述一个在相同名字空间中的其他对象。 请注意这些度量指标用于描述这些对象,并非从对象中获取指标。 对象度量指标支持的 target 类型包括 ValueAverageValue。如果是 Value 类型,target 值将直接与 API 返回的度量指标比较, 而对于 AverageValue 类型,API 返回的度量值将按照 Pod 数量拆分,然后再与 target 值比较。 下面的 YAML 文件展示了一个表示 requests-per-second 的度量指标。

type: Object
object:
  metric:
    name: requests-per-second
  describedObject:
    apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1beta1
    kind: Ingress
    name: main-route
  target:
    type: Value
    value: 2k

如果你指定了多个上述类型的度量指标,HorizontalPodAutoscaler 将会依次考量各个指标。 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 将会计算每一个指标所提议的副本数量,然后最终选择一个最高值。

比如,如果你的监控系统能够提供网络流量数据,你可以通过 kubectl edit 命令 将上述 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 的定义更改为:

apiVersion: autoscaling/v2beta1
kind: HorizontalPodAutoscaler
metadata:
  name: php-apache
spec:
  scaleTargetRef:
    apiVersion: apps/v1
    kind: Deployment
    name: php-apache
  minReplicas: 1
  maxReplicas: 10
  metrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
      target:
        type: AverageUtilization
        averageUtilization: 50
  - type: Pods
    pods:
      metric:
        name: packets-per-second
      target:
        type: AverageValue
        averageValue: 1k
  - type: Object
    object:
      metric:
        name: requests-per-second
      describedObject:
        apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1beta1
        kind: Ingress
        name: main-route
      target:
        kind: Value
        value: 10k
status:
  observedGeneration: 1
  lastScaleTime: <some-time>
  currentReplicas: 1
  desiredReplicas: 1
  currentMetrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
    current:
      averageUtilization: 0
      averageValue: 0
  - type: Object
    object:
      metric:
        name: requests-per-second
      describedObject:
        apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1beta1
        kind: Ingress
        name: main-route
      current:
        value: 10k

这样,你的 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 将会尝试确保每个 Pod 的 CPU 利用率在 50% 以内, 每秒能够服务 1000 个数据包请求, 并确保所有在 Ingress 后的 Pod 每秒能够服务的请求总数达到 10000 个。

基于更确定的度量值来扩缩

许多度量流水线允许你通过名称或附加的_标签_来描述度量指标。 对于所有非资源类型度量指标(pod、object 和后面将介绍的 external), 可以额外指定一个标签选择算符。例如,如果你希望收集包含 verb 标签的 http_requests 度量指标,可以按如下所示设置度量指标块,使得扩缩操作仅针对 GET 请求执行:

type: Object
object:
  metric:
    name: `http_requests`
    selector: `verb=GET`

这个选择算符使用与 Kubernetes 标签选择算符相同的语法。 如果名称和标签选择算符匹配到多个系列,监测管道会决定如何将多个系列合并成单个值。 选择算符是可以累加的,它不会选择目标以外的对象(类型为 Pods 的目标 Pods 或者 类型为 Object 的目标对象)。

基于与 Kubernetes 对象无关的度量指标执行扩缩

运行在 Kubernetes 上的应用程序可能需要基于与 Kubernetes 集群中的任何对象没有明显关系的度量指标进行自动扩缩, 例如那些描述与任何 Kubernetes 名字空间中的服务都无直接关联的度量指标。 在 Kubernetes 1.10 及之后版本中,你可以使用外部度量指标(external metrics)。

使用外部度量指标时,需要了解你所使用的监控系统,相关的设置与使用自定义指标时类似。 外部度量指标使得你可以使用你的监控系统的任何指标来自动扩缩你的集群。 你只需要在 metric 块中提供 nameselector,同时将类型由 Object 改为 External。 如果 metricSelector 匹配到多个度量指标,HorizontalPodAutoscaler 将会把它们加和。 外部度量指标同时支持 ValueAverageValue 类型,这与 Object 类型的度量指标相同。

例如,如果你的应用程序处理来自主机上消息队列的任务, 为了让每 30 个任务有 1 个工作者实例,你可以将下面的内容添加到 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 的配置中。

- type: External
  external:
    metric:
      name: queue_messages_ready
      selector: "queue=worker_tasks"
    target:
      type: AverageValue
      averageValue: 30

如果可能,还是推荐定制度量指标而不是外部度量指标,因为这便于让系统管理员加固定制度量指标 API。 而外部度量指标 API 可以允许访问所有的度量指标。 当暴露这些服务时,系统管理员需要仔细考虑这个问题。

附录:Horizontal Pod Autoscaler 状态条件

使用 autoscaling/v2beta2 格式的 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 时,你将可以看到 Kubernetes 为 HorizongtalPodAutoscaler 设置的状态条件(Status Conditions)。 这些状态条件可以显示当前 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 是否能够执行扩缩以及是否受到一定的限制。

status.conditions字段展示了这些状态条件。 可以通过 kubectl describe hpa 命令查看当前影响 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 的各种状态条件信息:

kubectl describe hpa cm-test
Name:                           cm-test
Namespace:                      prom
Labels:                         <none>
Annotations:                    <none>
CreationTimestamp:              Fri, 16 Jun 2017 18:09:22 +0000
Reference:                      ReplicationController/cm-test
Metrics:                        ( current / target )
  "http_requests" on pods:      66m / 500m
Min replicas:                   1
Max replicas:                   4
ReplicationController pods:     1 current / 1 desired
Conditions:
  Type                  Status  Reason                  Message
  ----                  ------  ------                  -------
  AbleToScale           True    ReadyForNewScale        the last scale time was sufficiently old as to warrant a new scale
  ScalingActive         True    ValidMetricFound        the HPA was able to successfully calculate a replica count from pods metric http_requests
  ScalingLimited        False   DesiredWithinRange      the desired replica count is within the acceptable range
Events:

对于上面展示的这个 HorizontalPodAutoscaler,我们可以看出有若干状态条件处于健康状态。 首先,AbleToScale 表明 HPA 是否可以获取和更新扩缩信息,以及是否存在阻止扩缩的各种回退条件。 其次,ScalingActive 表明 HPA 是否被启用(即目标的副本数量不为零) 以及是否能够完成扩缩计算。 当这一状态为 False 时,通常表明获取度量指标存在问题。 最后一个条件 ScalingLimitted 表明所需扩缩的值被 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 所定义的最大或者最小值所限制(即已经达到最大或者最小扩缩值)。 这通常表明你可能需要调整 HorizontalPodAutoscaler 所定义的最大或者最小副本数量的限制了。

附录:量纲

HorizontalPodAutoscaler 和 度量指标 API 中的所有的度量指标使用 Kubernetes 中称为 quantity (量纲)的特殊整数表示。 例如,数量 10500m 用十进制表示为 10.5。 如果可能的话,度量指标 API 将返回没有后缀的整数,否则返回以千分单位的数量。 这意味着你可能会看到你的度量指标在 11500m (也就是在十进制记数法中的 11.5)之间波动。 更多信息,请参阅度量术语

附录:其他可能的情况

使用 YAML 文件以声明式方式创建 Autoscaler

除了使用 kubectl autoscale 命令,也可以文件创建 HorizontalPodAutoscaler:

apiVersion: autoscaling/v1
kind: HorizontalPodAutoscaler
metadata:
  name: php-apache
spec:
  scaleTargetRef:
    apiVersion: apps/v1
    kind: Deployment
    name: php-apache
  minReplicas: 1
  maxReplicas: 10
  targetCPUUtilizationPercentage: 50

使用如下命令创建 autoscaler:

kubectl create -f https://k8s.io/examples/application/hpa/php-apache.yaml
horizontalpodautoscaler.autoscaling/php-apache created
最后修改 August 28, 2020 at 3:18 PM PST: Update horizontal-pod-autoscale-walkthrough.md (0beb0478b)

Tasks

Edit This Page

Horizontal Pod Autoscaler Walkthrough

Horizontal Pod Autoscaler automatically scales the number of pods in a replication controller, deployment or replica set based on observed CPU utilization (or, with beta support, on some other, application-provided metrics).

This document walks you through an example of enabling Horizontal Pod Autoscaler for the php-apache server. For more information on how Horizontal Pod Autoscaler behaves, see the Horizontal Pod Autoscaler user guide.

Before you begin

This example requires a running Kubernetes cluster and kubectl, version 1.2 or later. metrics-server monitoring needs to be deployed in the cluster to provide metrics via the resource metrics API, as Horizontal Pod Autoscaler uses this API to collect metrics. The instructions for deploying this are on the GitHub repository of metrics-server, if you followed getting started on GCE guide, metrics-server monitoring will be turned-on by default.

To specify multiple resource metrics for a Horizontal Pod Autoscaler, you must have a Kubernetes cluster and kubectl at version 1.6 or later. Furthermore, in order to make use of custom metrics, your cluster must be able to communicate with the API server providing the custom metrics API. Finally, to use metrics not related to any Kubernetes object you must have a Kubernetes cluster at version 1.10 or later, and you must be able to communicate with the API server that provides the external metrics API. See the Horizontal Pod Autoscaler user guide for more details.

Run & expose php-apache server

To demonstrate Horizontal Pod Autoscaler we will use a custom docker image based on the php-apache image. The Dockerfile has the following content:

FROM php:5-apache
ADD index.php /var/www/html/index.php
RUN chmod a+rx index.php

It defines an index.php page which performs some CPU intensive computations:

<?php
  $x = 0.0001;
  for ($i = 0; $i <= 1000000; $i++) {
    $x += sqrt($x);
  }
  echo "OK!";
?>

First, we will start a deployment running the image and expose it as a service:

$ kubectl run php-apache --image=k8s.gcr.io/hpa-example --requests=cpu=200m --expose --port=80
service/php-apache created
deployment.apps/php-apache created

Create Horizontal Pod Autoscaler

Now that the server is running, we will create the autoscaler using kubectl autoscale. The following command will create a Horizontal Pod Autoscaler that maintains between 1 and 10 replicas of the Pods controlled by the php-apache deployment we created in the first step of these instructions. Roughly speaking, HPA will increase and decrease the number of replicas (via the deployment) to maintain an average CPU utilization across all Pods of 50% (since each pod requests 200 milli-cores by kubectl run, this means average CPU usage of 100 milli-cores). See here for more details on the algorithm.

$ kubectl autoscale deployment php-apache --cpu-percent=50 --min=1 --max=10
horizontalpodautoscaler.autoscaling/php-apache autoscaled

We may check the current status of autoscaler by running:

$ kubectl get hpa
NAME         REFERENCE                     TARGET    MINPODS   MAXPODS   REPLICAS   AGE
php-apache   Deployment/php-apache/scale   0% / 50%  1         10        1          18s

Please note that the current CPU consumption is 0% as we are not sending any requests to the server (the CURRENT column shows the average across all the pods controlled by the corresponding deployment).

Increase load

Now, we will see how the autoscaler reacts to increased load. We will start a container, and send an infinite loop of queries to the php-apache service (please run it in a different terminal):

$ kubectl run -i --tty load-generator --image=busybox /bin/sh

Hit enter for command prompt

$ while true; do wget -q -O- http://php-apache.default.svc.cluster.local; done

Within a minute or so, we should see the higher CPU load by executing:

$ kubectl get hpa
NAME         REFERENCE                     TARGET      CURRENT   MINPODS   MAXPODS   REPLICAS   AGE
php-apache   Deployment/php-apache/scale   305% / 50%  305%      1         10        1          3m

Here, CPU consumption has increased to 305% of the request. As a result, the deployment was resized to 7 replicas:

$ kubectl get deployment php-apache
NAME         DESIRED   CURRENT   UP-TO-DATE   AVAILABLE   AGE
php-apache   7         7         7            7           19m
Note: It may take a few minutes to stabilize the number of replicas. Since the amount of load is not controlled in any way it may happen that the final number of replicas will differ from this example.

Stop load

We will finish our example by stopping the user load.

In the terminal where we created the container with busybox image, terminate the load generation by typing <Ctrl> + C.

Then we will verify the result state (after a minute or so):

$ kubectl get hpa
NAME         REFERENCE                     TARGET       MINPODS   MAXPODS   REPLICAS   AGE
php-apache   Deployment/php-apache/scale   0% / 50%     1         10        1          11m

$ kubectl get deployment php-apache
NAME         DESIRED   CURRENT   UP-TO-DATE   AVAILABLE   AGE
php-apache   1         1         1            1           27m

Here CPU utilization dropped to 0, and so HPA autoscaled the number of replicas back down to 1.

Note: Autoscaling the replicas may take a few minutes.

Autoscaling on multiple metrics and custom metrics

You can introduce additional metrics to use when autoscaling the php-apache Deployment by making use of the autoscaling/v2beta2 API version.

First, get the YAML of your HorizontalPodAutoscaler in the autoscaling/v2beta2 form:

$ kubectl get hpa.v2beta2.autoscaling -o yaml > /tmp/hpa-v2.yaml

Open the /tmp/hpa-v2.yaml file in an editor, and you should see YAML which looks like this:

apiVersion: autoscaling/v2beta2
kind: HorizontalPodAutoscaler
metadata:
  name: php-apache
  namespace: default
spec:
  scaleTargetRef:
    apiVersion: apps/v1
    kind: Deployment
    name: php-apache
  minReplicas: 1
  maxReplicas: 10
  metrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
      target:
        type: Utilization
        averageUtilization: 50
status:
  observedGeneration: 1
  lastScaleTime: <some-time>
  currentReplicas: 1
  desiredReplicas: 1
  currentMetrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
      current:
        averageUtilization: 0
        averageValue: 0

Notice that the targetCPUUtilizationPercentage field has been replaced with an array called metrics. The CPU utilization metric is a resource metric, since it is represented as a percentage of a resource specified on pod containers. Notice that you can specify other resource metrics besides CPU. By default, the only other supported resource metric is memory. These resources do not change names from cluster to cluster, and should always be available, as long as the metrics.k8s.io API is available.

You can also specify resource metrics in terms of direct values, instead of as percentages of the requested value, by using a target type of AverageValue instead of AverageUtilization, and setting the corresponding target.averageValue field instead of the target.averageUtilization.

There are two other types of metrics, both of which are considered custom metrics: pod metrics and object metrics. These metrics may have names which are cluster specific, and require a more advanced cluster monitoring setup.

The first of these alternative metric types is pod metrics. These metrics describe pods, and are averaged together across pods and compared with a target value to determine the replica count. They work much like resource metrics, except that they only support a target type of AverageValue.

Pod metrics are specified using a metric block like this:

type: Pods
pods:
  metric:
    name: packets-per-second
  target:
    type: AverageValue
    averageValue: 1k

The second alternative metric type is object metrics. These metrics describe a different object in the same namespace, instead of describing pods. The metrics are not necessarily fetched from the object; they only describe it. Object metrics support target types of both Value and AverageValue. With Value, the target is compared directly to the returned metric from the API. With AverageValue, the value returned from the custom metrics API is divided by the number of pods before being compared to the target. The following example is the YAML representation of the requests-per-second metric.

type: Object
object:
  metric:
    name: requests-per-second
  describedObject:
    apiVersion: extensions/v1beta1
    kind: Ingress
    name: main-route
  target:
    type: Value
    value: 2k

If you provide multiple such metric blocks, the HorizontalPodAutoscaler will consider each metric in turn. The HorizontalPodAutoscaler will calculate proposed replica counts for each metric, and then choose the one with the highest replica count.

For example, if you had your monitoring system collecting metrics about network traffic, you could update the definition above using kubectl edit to look like this:

apiVersion: autoscaling/v2beta1
kind: HorizontalPodAutoscaler
metadata:
  name: php-apache
  namespace: default
spec:
  scaleTargetRef:
    apiVersion: apps/v1
    kind: Deployment
    name: php-apache
  minReplicas: 1
  maxReplicas: 10
  metrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
      target:
        kind: AverageUtilization
        averageUtilization: 50
  - type: Pods
    pods:
      metric:
        name: packets-per-second
      targetAverageValue: 1k
  - type: Object
    object:
      metric:
        name: requests-per-second
      describedObject:
        apiVersion: extensions/v1beta1
        kind: Ingress
        name: main-route
      target:
        kind: Value
        value: 10k
status:
  observedGeneration: 1
  lastScaleTime: <some-time>
  currentReplicas: 1
  desiredReplicas: 1
  currentMetrics:
  - type: Resource
    resource:
      name: cpu
    current:
      averageUtilization: 0
      averageValue: 0
  - type: Object
    object:
      metric:
        name: requests-per-second
      describedObject:
        apiVersion: extensions/v1beta1
        kind: Ingress
        name: main-route
      current:
        value: 10k

Then, your HorizontalPodAutoscaler would attempt to ensure that each pod was consuming roughly 50% of its requested CPU, serving 1000 packets per second, and that all pods behind the main-route Ingress were serving a total of 10000 requests per second.

Autoscaling on more specific metrics

Many metrics pipelines allow you to describe metrics either by name or by a set of additional descriptors called labels. For all non-resource metric types (pod, object, and external, described below), you can specify an additional label selector which is passed to your metric pipeline. For instance, if you collect a metric http_requests with the verb label, you can specify the following metric block to scale only on GET requests:

type: Object
object:
  metric:
    name: `http_requests`
    selector: `verb=GET`

This selector uses the same syntax as the full Kubernetes label selectors. The monitoring pipeline determines how to collapse multiple series into a single value, if the name and selector match multiple series. The selector is additive, and cannot select metrics that describe objects that are not the target object (the target pods in the case of the Pods type, and the described object in the case of the Object type).

Applications running on Kubernetes may need to autoscale based on metrics that don’t have an obvious relationship to any object in the Kubernetes cluster, such as metrics describing a hosted service with no direct correlation to Kubernetes namespaces. In Kubernetes 1.10 and later, you can address this use case with external metrics.

Using external metrics requires knowledge of your monitoring system; the setup is similar to that required when using custom metrics. External metrics allow you to autoscale your cluster based on any metric available in your monitoring system. Just provide a metric block with a name and selector, as above, and use the External metric type instead of Object. If multiple time series are matched by the metricSelector, the sum of their values is used by the HorizontalPodAutoscaler. External metrics support both the Value and AverageValue target types, which function exactly the same as when you use the Object type.

For example if your application processes tasks from a hosted queue service, you could add the following section to your HorizontalPodAutoscaler manifest to specify that you need one worker per 30 outstanding tasks.

- type: External
  external:
    metric:
      name: queue_messages_ready
      selector: "queue=worker_tasks"
    target:
      type: AverageValue
      averageValue: 30

When possible, it’s preferable to use the custom metric target types instead of external metrics, since it’s easier for cluster administrators to secure the custom metrics API. The external metrics API potentially allows access to any metric, so cluster administrators should take care when exposing it.

Appendix: Horizontal Pod Autoscaler Status Conditions

When using the autoscaling/v2beta2 form of the HorizontalPodAutoscaler, you will be able to see status conditions set by Kubernetes on the HorizontalPodAutoscaler. These status conditions indicate whether or not the HorizontalPodAutoscaler is able to scale, and whether or not it is currently restricted in any way.

The conditions appear in the status.conditions field. To see the conditions affecting a HorizontalPodAutoscaler, we can use kubectl describe hpa:

$ kubectl describe hpa cm-test
Name:                           cm-test
Namespace:                      prom
Labels:                         <none>
Annotations:                    <none>
CreationTimestamp:              Fri, 16 Jun 2017 18:09:22 +0000
Reference:                      ReplicationController/cm-test
Metrics:                        ( current / target )
  "http_requests" on pods:      66m / 500m
Min replicas:                   1
Max replicas:                   4
ReplicationController pods:     1 current / 1 desired
Conditions:
  Type                  Status  Reason                  Message
  ----                  ------  ------                  -------
  AbleToScale           True    ReadyForNewScale        the last scale time was sufficiently old as to warrant a new scale
  ScalingActive         True    ValidMetricFound        the HPA was able to successfully calculate a replica count from pods metric http_requests
  ScalingLimited        False   DesiredWithinRange      the desired replica count is within the acceptable range
Events:

For this HorizontalPodAutoscaler, we can see several conditions in a healthy state. The first, AbleToScale, indicates whether or not the HPA is able to fetch and update scales, as well as whether or not any backoff-related conditions would prevent scaling. The second, ScalingActive, indicates whether or not the HPA is enabled (i.e. the replica count of the target is not zero) and is able to calculate desired scales. When it is False, it generally indicates problems with fetching metrics. Finally, the last condition, ScalingLimited, indicates that the desired scale was capped by the maximum or minimum of the HorizontalPodAutoscaler. This is an indication that you may wish to raise or lower the minimum or maximum replica count constraints on your HorizontalPodAutoscaler.

Appendix: Quantities

All metrics in the HorizontalPodAutoscaler and metrics APIs are specified using a special whole-number notation known in Kubernetes as a quantity. For example, the quantity 10500m would be written as 10.5 in decimal notation. The metrics APIs will return whole numbers without a suffix when possible, and will generally return quantities in milli-units otherwise. This means you might see your metric value fluctuate between 1 and 1500m, or 1 and 1.5 when written in decimal notation. See the glossary entry on quantities for more information.

Appendix: Other possible scenarios

Creating the autoscaler declaratively

Instead of using kubectl autoscale command to create a HorizontalPodAutoscaler imperatively we can use the following file to create it declaratively:

application/hpa/php-apache.yaml
apiVersion: autoscaling/v1
kind: HorizontalPodAutoscaler
metadata:
  name: php-apache
  namespace: default
spec:
  scaleTargetRef:
    apiVersion: apps/v1
    kind: Deployment
    name: php-apache
  minReplicas: 1
  maxReplicas: 10
  targetCPUUtilizationPercentage: 50

We will create the autoscaler by executing the following command:

$ kubectl create -f https://k8s.io/examples/application/hpa/php-apache.yaml
horizontalpodautoscaler.autoscaling/php-apache created

Feedback